6:30 P.M. JULY 3, 2012



A G E N D A COPENHAGEN CENTRAL SCHOOL BOARD OF EDUCATION REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING



Band Room #314

1. Election

- a) Temporary Chairman Scott Connell
- b) Pledge of Allegiance
- c) Oath to new members Fred Tomaselli
- d) Nomination for Office of President (President takes over meeting)
- e) Nomination for Office of Vice President
- f) Oath to new officers
- g) Election of member and alternate member to serve on Executive Committee of Jeff-Lewis School boards Association.
- h) Election of member to serve as Legislative Liaison for New York State School Boards Association.

2. Appointment of District Officers

- a) District Treasurer Marcia Mundy
- b) Deputy Treasurer Scott Connell
- c) District Clerk Mary Jones
- d) Tax Collector Robin Spaulding
- e) Internal Claims Auditor Rachel Guyette

3. Appointment of other positions:

- a) Secretary to the Board Mary Jones
- b) School Physician R. Brian Shambo, M.D.
- c) School Alternate Physicians Dr. Shirley Tuttle-Malone
- d) School Attorney O'Hara & O'Connell; Ferrara, Fiorenza, Larrison, Barrett & Reitz, PC
 - e) Records Management Officer Phyllis Gaines
 - f) Designated Education Official Scott Connell
 - g) District Internal Auditors Poulsen & Podvin
- h) District External Auditors Mr. Thomas Bowie, Bowers & Company, CPAS, PLLC
 - i) Title IX/Section 504 Hearing Officer Scott Connell
 - j) Central Treasurer Extra Class Activity Account Robin Spaulding alternates Catherine Snyder, Director of Student Activities
 - k) Election Clerks and Inspectors Rachel Guyette, Brenda Shelmidine, Linda Prince, Mary Shambo, Robin Spaulding, Marcia Mundy, Mary Jones, Phyllis Gaines, Donna Wheeler, and alternate, Patricia Eddy
 - 1) Coordinator of Federal Funds Marcia Mundy
 - m) District Investment Coordinator Marcia Mundy
 - n) Dignity for All Students Act Coordinator (DFASA) Scott Connell
 - o) Committee on Special Education
- Chairperson/LEA Representative.......Dale R. Munn, Jr./Brenda Shelmidine, Co-Chair

Parent or persons in parental relationship to the student

Additional Parent Representatives: (one mandated parent representative at

meeting) Amanda Kloster/Stephanie Olson/Lisa Green Vivian Doolittle/Ellen Eves/Joyce Sullivan (The parent of the child can request that the additional parent member not participate.) School Physician: R. Brian Shambo, M.D. Special Education Teachers/Related Service Providers......Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Area Regular Education Teachers.....Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Areas Student......When Appropriate p) Committee on Special Education Subcommittee Chairperson/LEA Representative......Dale R. Munn, Jr./ Brenda Shelmidine, Co-Chair Parent or persons in parental relationship to the student Special Education Teachers/Related Service Providers......Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Area Regular Education Teachers......Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Areas Student......When Appropriate q) Section 504 Committee: (Team members included as appropriate) Co/Chair Parent or persons in parental relationship to the student Special Education Teachers/Related Service Providers......Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Area Regular Education Teachers.....Appropriate Grade Level/Subject Areas Student......When Appropriate

Guidance Counselor

Principal

r) Committee on Preschool Special Education

Chairperson: Brenda Shelmidine

Parent or persons in parental relationship to the student

Lewis County Municipality Representative: Laurie Stoffel

Jefferson County Municipality Representatives: Larry Tingley and/or Ljuba Cvetkovic – (not mandated member of the committee)

Additional Parent Representatives: Amanda Kloster, Stephanie Olson, Lisa Green, Vivian Doolittle, Ellen Eves, Joyce Sullivan, Parent Representatives (one mandated parent member at the meeting)

(The parent of the child can request that the additional parent member not participate.)

Early Intervention Provider and/or Evaluating Agency and/or Special Education Service Provider/Teacher – Appropriate Representative

Part 200 Regulations: the parent and the school district may agree that the attendance of a member is not necessary or that a member of the committee may be excused in accordance with the following procedures pursuant to sections 4308(2)(f) through (h), 4355(2)(f) through (h), 4402(1)(b)(1)(b-1) through (b-3), 4402(1)(b)(1)(d), and 4410(3)(a)(3) through (5) of the Education Law. A parent is requested to sign off on the excusal of a committee member.

s) Instructional Material Review Committee:

Mrs. JoAnne Spooner
 Ms Holly Evans
 Mrs. Nadine O'Shaughnessy
 Mrs. Margaret Nevills
 Elementary Teacher
 Secondary Teacher
 K-12 Principal
 Teacher

Mrs. Monica Kellogg
 Member of the Community

- t) Attendance Officers Eileen Carroll, School Nurse, and Mary Shambo
- u) Co-Census Enumerators Phyllis Gaines/ Deborah Woodruff
- v) Records Access Officer Scott Connell
- w) District Audit Committee
 - Seven Board Members
 - Community Member: Laura Tousant
- x) Asbestos (LEA) Designee John McGraw
- y) Purchasing Agent Scott N. Connell
- z) Director of Student Activities Catherine Snyder
- aa) Chemical Hygiene Officers Robert Cooper and John McGraw
- 4. <u>Bonding of Personnel</u> The Board may bond the following personnel handling district funds:
 - a) District Clerk/Secretary to Supt. Mary Jones
 - b) District Treasurer Marcia Mundy
 - c) Central Activity Treasurer Robin Spaulding
 - d) Internal Claims Auditor Rachel Guyette
 - e) Deputy Treasurer Scott N. Connell
 - f) Tax Collector Robin Spaulding
- 5. Designation The Board shall designate/approve:
 - a) Depository of Funds 1st Niagara, with Secondary Depositories: Key Bank, Community Bank and J. P. Morgan Chase Manhattan Bank.
 - b) Newspaper Watertown Daily Times.
 - c) Mileage reimbursement rate @ \$.45 per mile.
 - d) Set tuition rate for the 2012 2013 school year at zero.
 - e) Rate of pay for tutors of homebound students @ \$17.23 per hour.
 - f) Regular monthly meetings and Work Sessions:

Regular Monthly Meetings Work Sessions

July 3, 2012 Reorganizational Meeting

July 30, 2012

August 27, 2012 Work Session August 14, 2012
September 24, 2012 Work Session September 11, 2012
October 29, 2012 Work Session October 16, 2012
November 26, 2012 Work Session November 13, 2012
December 19, 2012 @ 1:30 p.m. Work Session December 4, 2012
January 28, 2013 Work Session January 15, 2013
February 25, 2013 Work Session February 12, 2013

March 25, 2013 Work Session March 12, 2013 April 29, 2013 Work Session April 16, 2013

Annual Meeting May , 2013/Annual Vote May , 2013 (set by State) May 28, 2013 Work Session May 14, 2013 June 24, 2013 Work Session June 11, 2013

6. Authorizations:

- a) to certify Payroll Scott Connell
- b) of attendance at conferences, conventions, workshops, etc. with designated expense Scott Connell; Board of Education to authorize any out of state conference prior to registration.
- c) to establish Petty Cash Fund Scott Connell
- d) Purchasing Agent Scott Connell
- e) To offer school district employee and officer indemnification under Public Officer's Law §18;
- f) to designate authorized signatures on checks Scott Connell
- g) to use check signing device Marcia Mundy, Mary Jones
- h) of Superintendent of Schools to approve budget transfers, and the monetary limits of such transfers.
- 7. Reapprove the Copenhagen Central School Plan for Annual Professional Performance Review.
- 8. Resolutions:
- a) BE IT RESOLVED that the Copenhagen Central School District Board of Education agrees to participate in the St. Lawrence/Lewis BOCES Cooperative Purchasing Programs in accordance with the guidelines set forth in the "Cooperative Purchasing Agreement" for the 2012 2013 school year.
- 9. Policy readoption.
- 10. Organize Board of Education 2012 2013 Committees:
 - a) Finance & Facilities
 - b) Policy
 - c) Personnel & Negotiations
- 11. Adjournment.

.