BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES Hope Board of Education April 21, 2008

The Hope Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, April 21, 2008, with President Joe Short presiding. The following members were present: Virginia Cully, Dora Philyaw, Mike Beasley, Denny Dickinson, and Danny Watson.

The minutes of the March meeting were approved on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Dora Philyaw. Motion carried 6-0.

The board approved the March expenditures on a motion by Danny Watson with a second by Denny Dickinson. Motion carried 6-0.

The facilities rental request from Danctastics for the cafeteria and activity rooms at Clinton Primary was approved on a motion by Virginia Cully with a second by Mike Beasley. Motion carried 6-0.

The Memorandum of Understanding with the Hempstead County Department of Emergency Management and the Hempstead County Health Unit and the district was approved on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Dora Philyaw. Motion carried 6-0.

On a motion by Danny Watson with a second by Virginia Cully, the board voted to adopt the Partnership Application Resolution to dedicate local resources to meet the district's share of participation. Motion carried 6-0.

The board voted unanimously to authorize the superintendent to work together with Stephens, Inc., to attempt to refund the series 2003B bond issue on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Mike Beasley.

The board authorized the superintendent to work with the Guernsey Fire Department to make an application to FEMA for assistance with the hail damage sustained at the Guernsey Property. This action was a result of a motion by Danny Watson with a second by Virginia Cully. Motion carried 6-0.

The board voted unanimously to adopt the resolution for the refunding of the 2003B series bonds on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Mike Beasley.

On a motion by Dora Philyaw with a second by Danny Watson, the board voted 6-0 to approve the summer school full-day schedule of Monday through Thursday for three weeks from June 30, 2008 to July 17, 2008. Motion carried 6-0.

On a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Dora Philyaw, the board voted unanimously to adopt a nine hour per day four-day work week for office personnel during the June and July months. Motion carried 6-0.

Technology Coordinator Jeff Madlock presented the tech plan for school years 2009-2012. On a motion by Virginia Cully with a second by Mike Beasley, the board voted unanimously to approve the tech plan as presented.

After a closed session to discuss personnel, the following action was taken:

The certified staffs of Beryl Henry, Yerger Middle School, Hope High School and Garland were rehired for the 2008-2009 school year as recommended by their campus principal on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Dora Philyaw. Motion carried 6-0.

Joe Short left the meeting at this time. On a motion by Virginia Cully with a second by Mike Beasley, the board voted to rehire the 2008-2009 certified staff at Clinton Primary as listed with the exception of Pamela McDowell and Tara Burke on a 5-0 vote. Mr. Short reentered the meeting.

The board authorized the superintendent to reemploy classified personnel as needed on a motion by Denny Dickinson with a second by Danny Watson. Motion carried 6-0.

The board voted unanimously to accept the following resignations and retirements on a motion by Mike Beasley with a second by Virginia Cully:

Pam McDowell	CPS Teacher	retirement
Jack Williams	HHS Teacher/Coach	resignation
Teresa Pruitt	HHS Teacher	resignation
Danny Teutsch	HHS Teacher	retirement
Tara Burke	CPS Teacher	resignation
Michael Braddock	Maintenance	resignation
Paulette Briggs	Food Service	resignation
Rebecca Roberts	Custodian	resignation

On a motion by Danny Watson with a second by Virginia Cully, the board voted 6-0 to uphold the suspension of Ronald Koontz. Motion carried 6-0.

Meeting adjourned.

Joe Short President

Danny Watson Secretary