## SILEX R-I SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING APRIL 13, 2016 7:00 PM HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY

Gabe Twellman called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members present were: Gabe Twellman, Ben Henke, Ken McDonald, Julie Rodgers, Tom Kreuger and Steve Miller. Kim Ellis was unexcused absent.

Ben Henke made motion to dissolve current board. Julie Rodgers 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Elaine Henderson administered oath of office to Ken McDonald and Gabe Twellman.

Ken McDonald nominated Tom Kreuger for Board President. Gabe Twellman 2<sup>nd</sup>. 5y-0n. Tom Kreuger abstained.

Julie Rodgers nominated Ken McDonald for Vice President. Gabe Twellman 2<sup>nd</sup>. 5y-0n. Ken McDonald abstained.

Ken McDonald nominated Ben Henke for Secretary. Julie Rodgers 2<sup>nd</sup>. 5y-0n. Ben Henke abstained.

Steve Miller nominated Kim Ellis for Treasurer. Ken McDonald 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n.

Ken McDonald made motion to appoint Amy Gronek as Secretary to the Board. Steve Miller  $2^{nd}$ . 6y-0n

Gabe Twellman made motion to amend agenda to add item F. E-Rate discussion. Ken McDonald  $2^{nd}$ . 6y-0n

Gabe Twellman made motion to approve the consent agenda consisting of items:

- A. March 9, 2016 minutes
- B. Bill List
- C. Administrators' Reports

Ken McDonald 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Gabe Twellman made motion to approve Preschool Program Evaluation. Steve Miller  $2^{nd}$ . 6y-0n

Ken McDonald made motion to table Parents as Teachers Program Evaluation until next month. Julie Rodgers 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Ken McDonald made motion to acquire more land from the city. Gabe Twellman  $2^{nd}$ . 6y-0n

Ben Henke made motion to pursue LWCF grant for \$150,000 with the district matching in dollars or in kind donations of \$184,000. Julie Rodgers 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Gabe Twellman made motion to table parking lot discussion until October. Steve Miller  $2^{nd}$ . 6y-0n

Ken McDonald made motion to authorize Kent Hufty to act as superintendent designee while Elaine Henderson is on leave. Gabe Twellman 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Steve Miller made motion to approve using E-Rate funding for infrastructure upgrade. Ken McDonald 2<sup>nd</sup>. 6y-0n

Gabe Twellman made motion to go to Executive Session. Steve Miller 2<sup>nd</sup>. Gabe Twellman-yes, Ben Henke-yes, Ken McDonald-yes, Steve Miller-yes, Tom Kreuger-yes, Julie Rodgers-yes.

Ken McDonald made motion to adjourn at 9:40 p.m. Steve Miller 2<sup>nd</sup> 6y-0n