## October 6, 2020

The Board of Education of the School District of Marshall met in special session on Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at Spainhower Primary School at 6:00 p.m.

Present: President Erin Meyer, and members Harry Carrell, Ed Harper, Bryon Jacques, Ellen Lance, Matt Smith, and Christy Varner. Also Carol Maher, Superintendent of Schools; Terry Lorenz, Assistant Superintendent; Linda Perkins, Board Secretary; Ian Verts, MHS Principal; Paula Brown, BMS Principal; certified staff members; and MHS students.

Absent: None

On a motion by Mrs. Varner, seconded by Mr. Harper, the agenda was adopted for the remainder of the meeting.

Sam Samson, representing Marshall NEA, addressed the board regarding the essential workers designation for teachers. The group is not in favor of deeming teachers as essential.

Mr. Jacques arrived.

Turfing the football field was discussed. Mrs. Lance gave board members a new packet of information. Mentioned in past meetings, the district has \$250,000 reserved for this project and will receive approximately \$75,000 from the insurance company for damage done to the field. Money that would need to be raised would be \$1.1 million. On a motion by Mr. Jacques, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board unanimously approved not to accept the turf bid received that will be expiring. Mrs. Lance will contact the Booster Club to discuss the turfing project and ask for their assistance in raising funds. It was agreed that the district will not fund the turfing project and will use the fund set aside for track repair and insurance money only for the project.

Dr. Meyer arrived. She read a letter from Tara Brewer, Administrator of the Saline County Health Department, asking the board to table any changes at this time and resume the Return to Learning Plan that was previously in place. The Health Department would like to form a committee composed of members from the school district, Marshall Board of Education, Saline County Health Department, and Fitzgibbon Hospital to make any and all decisions related to resolutions or policies that involve any aspect of Covid-19 in Marshall Public Schools. Mr. Jacques and Mrs. Lance volunteered to represent the board on the committee.

Mindi Coslet and Julie Gass, representing CTA, addressed the board regarding teachers desire to be deemed non-essential workers. Comments from the classified staff had been sent to board members requesting classified staff be considered essential workers. A motion was made by Mrs. Varner, to table making a decision on essential workers. Mr. Harper seconded the motion but rescinded his second, after which a motion was made by Mr. Jacques to not deem district employees essential workers. Mr. Smith seconded the motion and it carried as follows:

Ayes: Carrell, Harper, Jacques, Lance, Meyer, Smith Nayes: Varner The Returning to Learning Plan was discussed. Dr. Maher reported district administrators had met to discuss adding a section to the plan regarding quarantines. They discussed some schools being quarantined sooner than others and that the delivery of instruction decision will be made independently by separate buildings. The PK-12 administration team decided students would return to in seat learning as follows:

Thursday, October 8 - Marshall High School, Saline County Career Center and Northwest (TLC)

Thursday, October 15 - Spainhower Primary, Benton Elementary, Southeast Elementary, Eastwood Elementary, and Bueker Middle

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Jacques, the board adjourned at 7:31 p.m. to reconvene in executive session with closed record and closed vote pursuant Section 610.021 (1) legal actions involving the district attorney communications.

Ayes: Carrell, Harper, Jacques, Lance, Meyer, Smith, Varner Nayes: None

In executive session, a motion was made by Mr. Jacques, seconded by Mr. Carrell, to enter into executive session and approve the closed session agenda. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Harper, Jacques, Lance, Meyer, Smith, Varner Nayes: None

Communication from the district lawyer was discussed. No action was taken.

On a motion by Mr. Jacques, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board returned to regular session. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Harper, Jacques, Lance, Meyer, Smith, Varner Nayes: None

On a motion by Mr. Jacques, seconded by Mr. Smith, the meeting was adjourned at 8:34 p.m. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Harper, Jacques, Lance, Meyer, Smith, Varner Nayes: None

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education