BLEVINS SCHOOL BOARD MEETING AUGUST 12, 2020 CAFETERIA

The regular board meeting was held August 12, 2020 in the school cafeteria. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by President Laura Clark. Board members present: Laura Clark, Janet Banister, Cindy Parks, Carl McGill, Chandra Dixon, and Norma Muldrew.

Prayer was led by Carl McGill, and the Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.

Norma Muldrew made a motion to approve the minutes for the July 13, 2020 monthly board meeting as amended. Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Chandra Dixon made a motion to approve the July 31, 2020 financial report. Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to approve the revised 2020-2021 school calendar. Chandra Dixon seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Superintendent Stephanie Dixon presented the Ready For Learning Plan for the 2020-2021 school year. This plan covers all current issues and the school's plan of action regarding student and staff safety related to COVID19 issues/concerns (this plan may change as the school year progresses). This plan will be on the school's website by September 1, 2020. No board action was needed on this issue.

Chandra Dixon made a motion to accept the amended board policy 5.17 -- Honor Roll And Honor Graduates. Norma Muldrew seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to accept the face covering policy effective immediately which states that face coverings are required for all employees and all students for grades kindergarten through 12th grade at times when social distancing of 6 feet cannot be assured. Face coverings are also required for all bus drivers and all student passengers while on any school bus. Face coverings may be removed during instructional time in classrooms and at other times when appropriate distancing among students and between students and teachers is achieved. Face Coverings may be removed when students are eating and drinking. Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Carl McGill made a motion to approve the revisions/updates to the handbook to ensure compliance with board policies. Also, these revisions will ensure the language in the handbook, board policies, and the Ready For Learning Plan are the same. Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

There was no superintendent report.

Elementary Principal Lara Herring gave an update on the activities and changes being made to prepare for the 2020-2021 school year.

High School Principal Jeffrey Steed gave an update on the activities and changes being made to prepare for the 2020-2021 school year.

Norma Muldrew made a motion to nominate Laura Clark to fill the Region 12 board position on the ASBA board of directors. Chandra Dixon seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

The board went into executive session at 7:08 p.m. to discuss personnel issues. The board came out of executive session at 7:50 p.m.

Laura Clark made a motion to amend the stipend schedule to reflect a change to the technology director salary to state that the salary for this position will be based on the years of experience on the certified salary schedule prorated for the days worked. Also, the candidate for this position must have a bachelor or masters degree and also a teaching certificate. Chandra Dixon seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to accept the resignation of Ashley Davis as technology director. Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to hire Zach Harris as technology coordinator with a 240-day contract for the 2020-2021 school year. Also, Mr. Harris will continue to serve as LEA supervisor and coach for the 3 archery teams. Chandra Dixon seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to hire Candace Richburg as special education resource teacher with a 190-day contract for the 2020-2021 school year. Also, she was hired as a bus driver for the 2020-2021 school year. Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to accept the resignation of Nancy Weinfurtner as ALE director. Norma Muldrew seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to hire Ashley Basham as ALE director with a 190-day contract for the 2020-2021 school year. Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to hire Angela Hampton as custodian with a 240-day contract for the 2020-2021 school year. Norma Muldrew seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to appoint Steven Dunham to fill the zone 4 school board position until the next school board election. Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.
Norma Muldrew made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:56 p.m. Chandra Dixon seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.
MINUTES:
BOARD PRESIDENT:

EX-OFFICIO FINANCIAL OFFICER: