MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 1

HELD AT THE ARGENTA-OREANA MIDDLE SCHOOL/HIGH SCHOOL, 500 NORTH MAIN ST., ARGENTA, ILLINOIS ON MONDAY, JUNE 8, 2020.

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 1, Macon and DeWitt Counties, Illinois, (Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District No. 1) convened on June 8, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. in the Argenta-Oreana Middle School/High School Library at 500 North Main Street, Argenta, Illinois pursuant to notice of regular meeting having been given in due form of law Todd Armstrong, President, in the Chair, and with a legal quorum as follows: Summer Boyd, Maria Lightner, Dick Logue, Jeff Schroetlin, Lori Sprague, Rory Tipsword, and Todd Armstrong. Also present: Damian Jones, Superintendent; Sean German, Principal; Patrick Blair, Principal;; and Michael Williams, Assistant Principal.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to enter closed session at 6:01 p.m. pursuant to the Open Meetings ACT – 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1), which permits a closed session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific certified and/or non-certified employee(s) of the public body. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to reconvene the regular meeting at 6:11 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve the May 11, 2020 Regular Meeting Minutes. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Jeff Schroetlin/Rory Tipsword, second, made a motion to approve payroll/bills. The roll vote: Summer Boydyes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to accept the resignations of Hope Schwoerer as elementary school cross categorical teacher; Margaret Jebe as RtI aide; Cheryl Vandevorde as PreK Familiy coordinator; and Tanya Dahl as RtI aide. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to hire Stacey Sharrow as elementary school library aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Hayley Breden as RtI aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Jessica Siroky as PreK aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Rhonda Paustian as Kindergarten aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Michelle Lacox and Elizabeth "Katie" Hoult as elementary school lunchroom/playground supervisors conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Michelle Lacox conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Michelle Lacox and Elizabeth "Katie" Hoult as elementary school lunchroom/playground supervisors conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Michelle Coach conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; and Gillian Jones as High School first assistant volleyball coach conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Lori Sprague/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to approve the bid from Hutchens Excavating to replace the remainder of the asphalt bus driver with concrete for \$60,320 as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Discussion occurred on Student & Extracurricular Handbook Changes but no action took place.

Rory Tipsword/Lori Sprague, second, made a motion to adopt the Prevailing Wage Resolution as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to keep the closed session minutes confidential and not for public inspection. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-ves; Maria Lightner-ves; Dick Logue-ves; Jeff Schroetlin-ves; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve the building Strategic Action Plans as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve the Treasurer Bond Renewal as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to approve the bus purchase as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

First reading of Board Policies & Revisions occurred.

Rory Tipsword/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to approve the NFHS Broadcasting Agreement as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to adjourn at 6:57 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrongyes.

APPROVED BY______Secretary

APPROVED BY_____

President