Litchfield Community Unit District No. 12
Board of Education Meeting
Special Meeting
State Street Elementary School Project Location
127 West St. John Street
Tuesday, July 5, 2022
6:00p.m.

The Litchfield Board of Education held a special meeting beginning at 6:00p.m. at the State Street Elementary School Project location, 127 West St. John Street, Litchfield, IL. 62056. Board members in attendance included: Julie Abel, President; Ron Anglin, Vice-President; Valerie Cain, Secretary; David Belusko, Mark Bloome; Jimmy Gorowski and Gregg Hires. Also in attendance were: Dr. Gregg Fuerstenau, Superintendent; Jeremy Heigert. Jeff Moehle, PMC; Kevin Meyer, FGM Architects; Jon Carroll, Peter Raterman, Eric Lohman, from Poettker Construction. John Hanafin, Litchfield News Herald and Kyle Herschelman, Journal News. Concerned parents and citizens including Mike Fleming.

The Board met at the site to discuss and be presented with options for fixing the cosmetic appearance of panels for the new elementary school. The appearance of panels does not jeopardize the integrity of the structure. Options were presented including sandblasting, and/ or patching and skimming coating with a completed finish.

Seeing no action to be taken, a motion was made David Belusko and seconded by Valerie Cain to adjourn the meeting at 7:00 p.m. Voice Vote: AYE: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski, Hires. Motion carried 7-0.

The Board of Education reconvened at G.A. Sihler School, 601 South State Street, Litchfield, IL. 62056 beginning at 7:05p.m. Board members in attendance included: Julie Abel, President; Ron Anglin, Vice-President; Valerie Cain, Secretary; David Belusko, Mark Bloome; Jimmy Gorowski and Gregg Hires. Also in attendance were: Dr. Gregg Fuerstenau, Superintendent; Jeremy Heigert. Jeff Moehle, PMC; Kevin Meyer, FGM Architects; Jon Carroll, Peter Raterman, Eric Lohman, from Poettker Construction. John Hanafin, Litchfield News Herald and Kyle Herschelman, Journal News. Concerned parents and citizens including Mike Fleming.

A motion was made by Valerie Cain and seconded by Jimmy Gorowski to approve the option to move forward with sandblasting the north side of storm shelter with the board meeting at the location at 6:00p.m on July 19, 2022 to see the progress. Roll Call: YEA: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski, and Hires. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Ron Anglin and seconded by Mark Bloome to enter into closed session for the following at 7:35 p.m. The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the District or legal counsel for the District, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee or against legal counsel for the District to determine its validity.5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) Litigation, when an action against, affecting, or on behalf of the particular District has been filed and is pending before a court or administrative tribunal, or when the District finds that an action is probable or imminent, in which case the basis for the finding shall be recorded and entered into the closed meeting minutes. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(11) Roll Call: YEA: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski, and Hires. Motion carried 7-0. Gregg Hires was not able to stay for the entire meeting. A motion was made by Ron Anglin and seconded by Mark Bloome to return to open session at 8:07p.m. Roll Call: YEA: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski. Motion carried 6-0.

Personnel report was approved. Roll Call: YEA: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski. Motion carried 6-0.

Accepted the resignation of Ryan Bowman, High School Math teacher effective immediately.

Accepted the resignation of Joyce Schoen 5th grade teacher effective immediately.

Accepted the resignation of Mitchell Hughes Elementary Physical Education teacher; Middle School Girls Head Track Coach; and High School Girls Assistant Volleyball Coach effective immediately.

Accepted the resignation of Josh Hughes, Middle School Boys Assistant Track Coach effective immediately. Accepted the resignation of Christy Bryan, IT Coordinator as of July 14, 2022.

Approved the hire of Vincent Fanelli as an Elementary Physical Education teacher at Russell School beginning the 2022-2023 school year.

Approved the hire of Daniel Bonnell as a High School Math teacher beginning the 2022-2023 school year. Approved the voluntary transfer of Trena White, Special Education Classroom aide to an Instructional Tutor at Russell School beginning the 2022-2023 school year.

Seeing no further action to be taken a motion was made by David Belusko and seconded by Mark Bloome to adjourn at 8:11p.m. Voice Vote: YEA: Abel, Anglin, Belusko, Bloome, Cain, Gorowski. Motion carried 6-0.