Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Regular Meeting of the Board of Education May 18, 2020

The Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, May 18, 2020 at 5:30 p.m. in the Commons area. The meeting was opened by President, Jennifer Caryer, with the following Board members answering roll call: Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Craig Eiden was absent.

The following items were discussed by the building principals.

Elementary School - Kirsten Coffman

- Acknowledged the retirements of Dianne Culler (34 years) and Loretta Mendenhall (18 years), of teaching service time at HEVSD.
- CCIP process is currently being worked on.

Middle School - Andy Hunter

- Cleaning up missing assignments.
- Congratulations to the retirement of Twyla Thiel.
- Middle School awards are complete.
- Teacher Appreciation Week is May 4th May 8th.

<u>High School – Jeff Slattery</u>

- On-line learning has been very challenging.
- Collection of district owned property has been going on.
- Commencement was outlined.

<u>Superintendent – Keith Countryman</u>

- Construction update road/service drive has began.
- · Custodians currently cleaning classrooms.
- Zoom meetings with Four County Superintendents. The topic was mostly graduation ceremonies.
- After closing the school year due to the pandemic, there is a need to address what the next school year will be like.
- Congratulations to those retiring this school year.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- 1. Minutes from the regular board meeting on April 20, 2020.
- 2. Treasurer's Consent Agenda Items
 - a. Approve Cash Reconciliation as of April 30, 2020.
 - b. Approve Financial Statements for April 2020.
 - c. Approve Amended Official Certificate of Estimated Resources for Fiscal Year 2020 as presented, total General Fund Resources of \$14,160,989.52 and total Resources for all funds of \$24,621,020.36
 - d. Approve Fiscal Year 2020 Amended Permanent Appropriations as presented, total General Fund Appropriations of \$11,270,121.46 and total Appropriations for all funds of \$20,108,153.65

- e. Approve the establishment of K-12 Prevention Education Initiative Fund, (Fund 499-9220). \$12,432 grant received through Four County ADAMhs Board as presented.
- f. Authorize the Treasurer to enter into the Ohio SchoolComp Group Retrospective Rating workers compensation program administered by CompManagement as the District's Third Party Administrator (TPA) effective with the policy year beginning January 1, 2021
- 3. Accept the following donations:

\$ 1000.00 from YourCause, LLC for Parker Hannifin Scholarship

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

The following motion was tabled.

 Recommend to approve the Five Year Forecast for May 2020 submission to the Ohio Department of Education as presented.

Mr. Ruen updated the board regarding the status of preparing the five-year forecast including various financial related items being effected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Minda Jones moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- Recommend to approve the updated certified substitute list provided monthly by NwOESC.
- Recommend to non-renew the following contracts at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year.

Mackenzie Coleman Kate Haggerty Brianna Culler Staci Wagner

- Recommend to non-renew all certified supplemental contracts at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year or at the end of the activity.
- Recommend to approve the following as substitute teachers for the 2020-2021 school year.

Ed Foster Kevin Snyder
Paul Overmyer Sue Strubing
Nancy Swift

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

Galen Methvin moved and Minda Jones seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- Recommend to accept the resignation from Whitney Thiel as Cheerleading Assistant Grades 9-12.
- Recommend to approve the updated classified substitute list provided monthly by NwOESC.

- Recommend to non-renew all classified supplemental contracts at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year or at the end of the activity.
- Recommend to approve a supplemental contract to the following in the amount of \$750.00 for summer of 2020 technology assistance.

Jackson Bergman Brandon Hamilton Noah Shaffer

• Recommend to approve the following as classified substitutes for the 2020-2021 school year.

Becky Bailey Paula Scranton
Sheila Baker John Smith
Nickhol Garza Sue Strubing
Angie Johnson Nancy Swift
Pam Payne Carrie Vowles
Phil Romero Laura Wofford

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- Recommend to approve a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), by and between Hicksville Exempted Village Schools and Hicksville Education Association for Certified Employee Evaluations.
- Recommend to approve a service agreement with Intertek PSI for construction materials testing and observation services for the Athletic Complex Project.
- Recommend to approve a quote from Fellers Plumbing Ltd. for replacing all waterless urinals to watered urinals. The estimated cost of service is \$16,966.32.
- Recommend to approve a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), by and between Defiance College and Hicksville Exempted Village Schools from July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021, for the hosting of teacher education candidates.
- Recommend to approve a Mentor Program Service Agreement with Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center (NwOESC) for the 2020-2021 school year.
- Recommend to approve a service agreement with Defiance County Board of Developmental Disabilities (DCBDD), to provide educational services from August 2020 – June 2021. The district will be assessed \$5000.00 per student for the excess cost.

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

Minda Jones moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- Recommend to approve the 2020 list of graduates, pending completion of all requirements.
- Recommend to approve the Safety Operations Plan for the school district.

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to approve resolution 2020-05. This resolution is a contingency plan for the 2019-2020 school year in the event school is closed for more than the hours permitted under board policy and state law.

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

Minda Jones moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to consider the appointment, employment, dismissal, discipline, demotion,or compensation of a public employee or official, or issuing suspension, or termination of a license, or the investigation of charges or complaints against a public employee, official licensee, or regulated individual unless the public employee, official, licensee, or regulated individual requests a public hearing.

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0.

The Board entered executive session at 6:30 p.m. The Board exited executive session at 7.31 p.m.

Minda Jones moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to adjourn this meeting until the next regular board meeting to be held on Monday, June 15, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.

Roll call: Ayes – Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 4-0. Time 7:31 p.m.

Board President	Treasurer