MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 1

HELD AT THE ARGENTA-OREANA MIDDLE SCHOOL/HIGH SCHOOL, 500 NORTH MAIN ST., ARGENTA, ILLINOIS ON MONDAY, MAY 11, 2020.

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 1, Macon and DeWitt Counties, Illinois, (Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District No. 1) convened on May 11, 2020 at 6:04 p.m. in the Argenta-Oreana Middle School/High School Library at 500 North Main Street, Argenta, Illinois pursuant to notice of regular meeting having been given in due form of law Todd Armstrong, President, in the Chair, and with a legal quorum as follows: Summer Boyd attended remotely, Maria Lightner attended remotely, Dick Logue attended remotely, Jeff Schroetlin, Lori Sprague, Rory Tipsword attended remotely, and Todd Armstrong. Also present: Damian Jones, Superintendent; Sean German, Principal attended remotely; Patrick Blair, Principal attended remotely; Amanda Ryder, Principal attended remotely; and Michael Williams, Assistant Principal attended remotely.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to enter closed session at 6:06 p.m. pursuant to the Open Meetings ACT – 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1), which permits a closed session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific certified and/or non-certified employee(s) of the public body. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Rory Tipsword, second, made a motion to reconvene the regular meeting at 6:13 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Maria Lightner/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve the April 14, 2020 Regular Meeting Minutes. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to approve payroll/bills. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to accept the retirement of Maryanne Nein as Pre-K aide effective May 30th, 2020. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to accept the resignations of Abby Schoolman as ME PE teacher at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year; Annie Kirby as 3 hour aide at the end of the 2019-2020 school year; Amberlee Seitz as ES library aide; and Matt Hall as HS Varsity Boys Basketball coach. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Maria Lightner/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to hire Lynsey Hotwick as district teacher for the 2020-2021 school year conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Clay Haurberg as district teacher for the 2020-2021 school year conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Clay Haurberg as HS Varsity Boys Basketball coach for the 2020-2021 school year conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Jacob Woodruff, Isaac Moss, Steve Ropp, Sharon Harris, Shannon Faught, and Paul McClure as summer workers; Aaron Dahl as summer worker conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; and Jeff Hollon as HS cross country coach. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to approve the transfer of Evelyn Nation to ES cook. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to hire Rebecca Altig, Walter Kemp, and John Berry as bus drivers. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve the Administrative & ESP Employment & Compensation as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Rory Tipsword, second, made a motion to approve the bid from Henson Robinson Company for roof repair as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to approve the purchase of a Kabota mower as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve the review of Serious Safety Hazard Findings for Transportation as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Student and Extracurricular Handbook Changes were presented by Mr Williams.

Dick Logue/Rory Tipsword, second, made a motion to establish 2020-2021 Student, Academic, Meal, and Extracurricular Fees as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve the ESSA Schoolwide Plan as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to adjourn at 6:26 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

	APPROVED BY	
		Secretary
APPROVED BY		
	President	