

WATERTOWN BOARD OF EDUCATION Monday, May 11, 2020 - 7:30 PM

****REMOTE MEETING**** MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC CAN LIVE STREAM THE REMOTE MEETING FROM THEIR COMPUTER, TABLET, OR SMART-PHONE AT https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIf9pwrH64gbrzGfmV4dtSw

PLEASE SUBMIT PUBLIC COMMENTS OR QUESTIONS TO THE BOARD OF EDUCATION BY EMAILING <u>QUESTIONS@WATERTOWNPS.ORG</u> WITH "BOARD MTG" IN THE SUBJECT LINE.

LINK TO BOARD OF EDUCATION MATERIALS

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1zPxvcCANg5l0UmesWegCcDy92Tc-AAHaJdPz5ncxeSM/edit

- A. Convene
- **B.** Pledge of Allegiance
- C. Roll Call
- D. Minutes Board of Education Regular Board Meeting – April 27, 2020
- E. Superintendents' Recommendations and Report
- F. Award Recognitions
 - a) Board of Education Student Council Representative Recognition Jordan Arnold
 - b) **Connecticut Association of Boards of Education (CABE) Student Leadership Award** The Watertown Board of Education wishes to congratulate the following students chosen by their principals from the middle and high schools, to receive the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education (CABE) Student Leadership Award. Students were chosen based on their exceptional leadership skills. We are pleased to announce our 2020 award winners:

Swift Middle School

- Lana Kolpa Grade 8
- Jason Hanis Grade 8

Watertown High School

- Hannah Jack Grade 12
- Jordan Arnold Grade 12

c) Connecticut Association of Public Schools Superintendents (CAPSS)

Congratulations to the following students for receiving the Superintendent's Award sponsored by the Connecticut Association of Public-School Superintendents (CAPSS). This award is given annually to four deserving students in Watertown for leadership, academic progress, and accomplishments:

Swift Middle School

- Casey O'Toole Grade 8
- Caeden Sullivan Grade 8

Watertown High School

- Priscilla Nascimento Grade 12
- Joseph Noga Grade 12

d) CAS-Middle School-Scholar Leader Award

The Watertown Board of Education would like to recognize the following two students from Swift Middle School, who received the Connecticut Association of Schools Middle School Scholar Leader Award. Consideration is given to academic success, leadership, active participation in school and community organizations, citizenship, a positive influence on school climate, dependability, responsibility, character, and integrity.

- Sabrina Moffa Grade 8
- Jacob Fenn Grade 8

e) Watertown High School - Connecticut High School Fine Arts Award

The Watertown Board of Education would like to recognize the following seniors from Watertown High School who received the Connecticut High School Fine Arts Award. Students must excel in the performing or visual arts and possess the qualities of scholarship and leadership in their respective field.

- Cailin McGuire
- Irene Pham

f) CAS-CIAC Scholar-Athlete Award

The Watertown Board of Education would like to recognize the following two high school seniors who received the Scholar Athlete Award. These students have excelled in their academic and athletic careers.

- Daniel Ottowitz
- Aubrey DeStefano

g) Connecticut Invention Convention (CIC)

The Watertown Board of Education would like to congratulate the following students from Polk & Judson Elementary Schools, who are winners of the Connecticut Invention Convention.

Polk Elementary School Winners

- Lahndon Flamengo Grade 5
- Samantha Grimes Grade 5

Judson Elementary School Winners – Advanced to the state level.

- Olivia Brevetti Grade 5
- Ella Russell Grade 5
- Ella D'Uva Grade 3
- Wyatt Brandt Grade 5

- Austen Stango Grade 3
- Reagan Dubay Grade 5
- Quinn Delaney Grade 5

h) Judson Elementary School - Spelling Bee Winner

Congratulations to Spelling Bee winner - Nathan Lubus, 5th grade student who advanced onto the state bee competition at the University of Saint Joseph.

i) Swift Middle School-Geography Bee Winner

Congratulations to the Geography Bee winner - David Perugini, 7th Grade Student.

G. Class of 2020 Salutatorian & Valedictorian

The Watertown Board of Education wishes to recognize and congratulate the Watertown High School Class of 2020 Salutatorian and Valedictorian.

- Congratulations to our Class of 2020 Salutatorian Aubrey DiStefano
- Congratulations to our Class of 2020 Valedictorian Daniel Ottowitz

H. School Re-Entry Advisory Council (SRAC) Update

I. Committee Reports:

Curriculum and Instruction Committee, Ms. Cathie Rinaldi, Chair Policy and Labor Committee, Ms. Janelle Wilk, Chair Budget and Finance Committee, Ms. Diane Bristol, Chair Facilities/PBC/Operations Committee, Mr. Thomas Lambert, Chair Governance and Community Engagement Committee, Mr. Robert Makowski, Chair

J. Communications - Secretary

K. Report from the Board Chair

Public Questions or comments submitted to <u>QUESTIONS@WATERTOWNPS.ORG</u> for the Board Meeting will be addressed. Please include "Board Meeting" in the subject line.

L. Action Items – Adoption of items to be Approved by Consent

M. Future Agenda Items and Board Members' Comments

N. Adjournment.