## September 26, 2011 For immediate release Contact: Jeffrey Shedd, Principal Cape Elizabeth High School 799-7265 jshedd@capeelizabethschools.org

High school principal Jeffrey Shedd is pleased to announce this year's recipients of the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Corporation's Semifinalist and Commended Student recognitions. More than 1.5 million students entered the 2012 Merit Program when they were juniors by taking the PSAT, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for over \$34 million in Merit Scholarship awards to be offered next spring. Commended Students, placing among the top five percent of students, are recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

Semifinalists in the 2012 Merit Scholarship Competition are: Ethan N. DiNinno, son of Julia Beckett & Arthur DiNinno John A. Harrison, son of Margo & Craig Harrison Julia G. Hintlian, daughter of Martha MacAuslan & Varney Hintlian Gregory M. Howard, son of Michelle & Michael Howard William C. McCarthy, son of Candee Kaknes & Terry McCarthy Maggie C. Rabasca, daughter of Kristie & Steve Rabasca Charlotte W. Rutty, daughter of Alison Morton & Lee Rutty

**Commended** students in the 2012 Merit Scholarship Competition are: Vanessa R. Blair-Glantz, daughter of Marti Blair & Larry Glantz Victoria L. Brigham, daughter of Patricia & Tom Brigham Paul C. Hamerski, son of Lisa Cotter & Thomas Hamerski Claire L. Muscat, daughter of Sarah & Paul Muscat Melissa L. Stewart, daughter of Josalind & Timothy Stewart

## For Immediate Release

Date:	October 6, 2011
Contact:	Jeff Shedd, Principal
	Cape Elizabeth High School
	799-3309

Jeffrey Shedd, Principal, is pleased to announce that thirty-eight members of Cape Elizabeth High School's Class of 2011 and seventeen members of the Class of 2012 have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams.

Students take AP Exams after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on the number of full-year courses and exams taken. Members of the Class of 2012 will have the possibility of achieving higher AP Scholar recognition upon completion of AP courses being taken this school year. At Cape Elizabeth High School:

Eight students qualified for both the **National AP Scholar Award** and the **AP Scholar with Distinction Award** by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a five-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are Alexander Diaz, Reid Douty, Peter Governali, Lucy Hewitt, Matthew Miklavic, John Queeney, Benjamin Richardson and Brendan Stewart.

Eighteen students qualified for the **AP Scholar with Distinction Award** by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Abigail Armstrong, Sydney Banks, Kelsey Barton, Willard Bollenbach, Theodore Bowe, Camille Braun, Allison Chase, William Daly, Ethan DiNinno, Kelsey Krull, Joseph Long, Robert Macdonald, Kelsey Maguire, Jackson Roos, Ross Sherman, Emily Taintor, Hannah Wallace and Paul Wennberg.

Ten students qualified for the **AP Scholar with Honor Award** by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Karyn Barrett, Benjamin Berman, Paul Hamerski, McClaran Hayes, Ian McInerney, Edward Melanson, Rachel Nichols, Maggie Rabasca, Delaney Ratner and Melissa Stewart.

Nineteen students qualified for the **AP Scholar Award** by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. These students are Max Aronson, Blake Barritt, Lydia Berman, Allyson Boyington, Brian Brett, Victoria Brigham, Elena Castro, Olivia Cooper, Sarah Cummings, Emily Donovan, Forest Hewitt, Julia Hintlian, Gregory Howard, Rachel Hunt, James Laprade, Andrew Lynch, Maria Morris, Claire Muscat and Lynn Tarbox.