SCHOOL CITY OF WHITING

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

January 8, 2018

5:30 PM

Board President Mr. Moynihan called the regular meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. with the following board members present: Jerry Moynihan, Nicole Davenport, Kathy Murzyn, Chris Stribiak, and Amanda Perkins.

<u>Administrators Present</u>: Superintendent of Schools, Cynthia Scroggins, Assistant Superintendent, Lorri Covaciu, School Board Attorney, Joseph L. Curosh, and Director of Finance, Kim Pusateri were present.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance & Prayer</u> – Everyone present at the meeting recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Mr. Moynihan gave a short prayer immediately thereafter. There were no visitors present.

Re-organization of the Board of School Trustees

<u>President of the Board</u> - Nominations were opened for President of the Board of School Trustees for 2018. Ms. Murzyn nominated Ms. Davenport as President of the Board. Ms. Stribiak seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Davenport as President of the Board.

<u>Vice-President of the Board</u> - Nominations were opened for Vice President of the Board of School Trustees for 2018. Ms. Stribiak nominated Ms. Perkins as Vice President of the Board. Mr. Moynihan seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Perkins as Vice President of the Board.

<u>Secretary of the Board</u> - Nominations were opened for Secretary of the Board of School Trustees for 2018. Ms. Murzyn nominated Mr. Moynihan as Secretary of the Board. Ms. Davenport seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Mr. Moynihan as Secretary of the Board.

<u>Legislative Liaison</u> - Nominations were opened for Legislative Liaison of the Board of School Trustees for 2018. Ms. Murzun nominated Ms. Stribiak as Legislative Liaison. Ms. Davenport seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Stribiak as Legislative Liaison of the Board.

<u>Technology Committee Representative</u> - Nominations were opened for School Board Representative for the Technology Committee during 2018. Ms. Stribiak nominated Ms. Murzyn as Technology Committee Representative for 2018. Ms. Davenport seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Murzyn as Technology Committee Representative of the Board.

<u>Insurance Committee Representative</u> - Nominations were opened for School Board Representative for the Insurance Committee for 2018. Ms. Davenport nominated Ms. Murzyn as Insurance Committee Representative. Ms. Perkins seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Murzyn as Insurance Committee Representative of the Board.

<u>Nominations for Shared Services Representative</u> - Nominations were opened for Shared Services Representatives for 2018. Ms. Murzyn nominated Ms. Stribiak as Shared Services Representative. Ms. Davenport seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Stribiak as Shared Services Representative of the Board.

Negotiations Team Representative (1) - Nominations were opened for School Board Representatives for the Negotiations Team during 2017. Ms. Murzyn nominated Ms. Davenport for Negotiations Team Representative. Mr. Moynihan seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, Ms. Murzyn made a motion to appoint Ms. Davenport as Negotiations Team Representative. Mr. Moynihan seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

Negotiations Team Representative (2) - Nominations were opened for (2) School Board Representatives for the Negotiations Team during 2018. Ms. Murzyn nominated Ms. Perkins for the Negotiations Team Representative. Ms. Stribiak seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Perkins as the Negotiations Team Representative. Ms. Murzyn nominated Ms. Davenport for the Negotiations Team during 2018. Ms. Stribiak seconded the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, it was the consensus of the Board to appoint Ms. Davenport as the Negotiations Team Representative.

<u>School Board Members Seated</u> – Immediately following the re-organization, Board members took their respective seats with Board President, Ms. Davenport to preside over the remainder of the meeting as follows:

Adoption of Resolution 1-18 – Ms. Scroggins recommended approval to adopt Resolution 1-18 to provide the district with flexibility to make certain transfers from taxable funds. Ms. Stribiak made a motion to adopt Resolution 1-18 as presented. Ms. Murzyn seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

Adoption of Resolution 2-18 – Ms. Scroggins recommended approval to adopt Resolution 2-18 authorizing the school to make certain increases, reductions and additional appropriations within the 2017 Transportation, Capital Projects, Bus Replacement, and General Fund Budgets. Ms. Murzyn made a motion to adopt Resolution 2-18 as presented. Ms. Perkins seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

<u>Set the Date and Time for 2018 Board Meetings</u> – Ms. Scroggins recommended that the board continue to meet on the 4th Monday of each month in an effort to pay claims to vendors in a timely manner. Ms. Stribiak made a motion to set the date and time for regular school board meetings for the 4th Monday of each month to begin at 5:30 PM with a 5:00 PM executive session. Ms. Murzyn seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

Re-appointment of School Board Attorney's Contract – Ms. Scroggins recommended approval to re-appoint School Board Attorney Joseph L. Curosh. Ms. Murzyn made a motion to re-appoint Curosh & Curosh Attorneys at Law as school board attorney and approve the contract for the period of January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 as presented. Mr. Moynihan seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

Reappointment of Corporation Treasurer and Corporation Deputy Treasurer Ms. Scroggins requested approval for the reappointment of Kim Pusateri as Director of Finance and Renee Dunlap as Deputy Treasurer for the period of January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018. Ms. Stribiak made a motion to approve the recommendation. Ms. Perkins seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

<u>Reappointment of Board Recording Secretary</u> – Ms. Scroggins recommended approval to re-appoint Jennifer Halliar as the Board Recording Secretary from January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018. Ms. Murzyn made a motion to approve the recommendation. Mr. Moynihan seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

Reappointment of Extra-curricular Treasurers – Ms. Scroggins recommended approval of the following re-appointments, which the Board took in aggregate: Ms. Tracy Rodriguez as Elementary Extra-Curricular Treasurer, Gabriela Castellon as Elementary Deputy Extra-Curricular Treasurer, Sheila Kobli as Middle School Extra-Curricular Treasurer, Teresa Lowe as Middle School Deputy Extra-Curricular Treasurer, Maria Alvarez as High School Extra-Curricular Treasurer, and Stephanie Strabavy as High School Deputy Extra-Curricular Treasurer. Ms. Murzyn made a motion to approve the re-appointments as noted. Ms. Perkins seconded the motion, which was passed unanimously by the Board.

<u>Adjournment</u> – There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 5:51 P.M. on a motion made by Mr. Moynihan and seconded by Ms. Murzyn which was passed unanimously by the Board.

School Board Secretary