# MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION – I.S.D. #361 INTERNATIONAL FALLS, MINNESOTA Thursday, November 6, 2014

Falls High School Cafeteria - 5:00 p.m.

## **PRELIMINARIES:**

- **1.0 CALL SPECIAL MEETING TO ORDER:** Meeting was called to order by Chairperson G. Dault at 5:00 p.m.
- **2.0 ROLL CALL:** Members present were Gordon Dault, Mike Holden, Dena Wenberg and Darrell Wagner. Also present was Superintendent Kevin Grover. Members absent were Willi Kostiuk and Michelle Hebner.

#### 3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

## 4.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by D. Wenberg, seconded by D. Wagner to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

- **5.0 PERSONNEL CONSENT AGENDA:** Moved by D. Weberg, seconded by D. Wagner to approve the personnel consent agenda as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.
  - 5.1 Approve the hire of Randy Hart as a 1.0 FTE custodian effective November 3, 2014 and in accord with the Master Agreement between ISD 361 and Local 510.
  - 5.2 Accept the resignation due to retirement of Susan Milette, Secretary, with the last service date of February 27, 2015 and pursuant to the Master Agreement between ISD 361 and Local 510.

## 6.0 CANVASS SCHOOL BOARD GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS:

Member Mike Holden introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

# RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 361, as follows:

- It is hereby found, determined and declared that the school board election of the voters of the district held on November 4, 2014 was in all respects fully and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 4286 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of three (3) school board members for four year terms as follows:

## THREE (3) - FOUR YEAR TERMS

Candidate -	Holt, Tom	3175
Write-in -	McBride, Heather	862
Write-in -	Korpi, Toni	848
Write-in -	Nordquist, Stuart	25
Write-in -	Korpi, Tina	23
Write-in -	Droba, Harley	15
Write-in -	Ditsch, Leon	7
Write-in -	Wenberg, Dena	7
Write-in -	Crosby, Steve	5
Write-in -	Briggs, Brian	4
Write-in -	Wallen, Darren	4
Write-in -	Christianson, Todd	3
Write-in -	Frank, Willi	3
Write-in -	Kostiuk, Willi	3
Write-in -	McBride, Maggie	3
Write-in -	McBride, Michelle	3
Write-in -	Norstad, Lisa	3
Write-in -	Pearson, Levi	3
Write-in -	Slatinski, Bethanne	3
Write-in -	Anderson, Bob	2

Write-in	- Krasaway, Brad	2
Write-in	- Lassila, Mark	2
Write-in	- Lepper, Chuck	2
Write-in	- McBride, Brian	2
Write-in	- Osse, Jennifer	2
Write-in	- Prettyman, Joe	2
Write-in	- Short, Robert C	2
Write-in	- Smith, Carrilyn	2
Write-in	- Smith, Tim	2
Write-in	- Wagner, Boxer	2
Write-in	- Woods, Ed	2
Write-in	- Anderson, Gary	1
Write-in	- Awe, Kathy	1
Write-in	- Bartlett, John	1
Write-in Write-in	<ul><li>Boelk, Keith</li><li>Bolstad, Michael</li></ul>	1 1
Write-in	- Braaten, Elmer	1
Write-in	- Budris, Bruce	1
Write-in	- Bumshet, Robin	1
Write-in	- Carlson, Jerry	1
Write-in	- Carlson, William C	1
Write-in	- Cook, Tammy	1
Write-in	- Corrin, Maxine	1
Write-in	- Eisenach, Kurt	1
Write-in	- Eklund, Rob	1
Write-in	- Fraik, George	1
Write-in	- Gedde, Mike	1
Write-in	- Gillian, Roy	1
Write-in	- Goulet, Mark	1
Write-in	- Hebner	1
Write-in	- Holden	1
Write-in	- Iffert, Terry	1
Write-in	- Jesperson, Brian	1
	- Johnson, Bill	1
	<ul><li>Johnson, William R.</li><li>Johnson-Smalley, Dianne</li></ul>	1 1
	- Koenig, Shelly	1
	- Korpi, Kari	1
	- Korpi, Lori	1
	- Korpi, Renee	1
	- Kruse, Steve	1
Write-in	- LeDuc, Brenda	1
Write-in	- Loop, Elizabeth	1
Write-in	- Lyman, Lori	1
	- Manka, Laura	1
	- Manka, Sarah	1
	- Martinez, Mandy	1
	- Mathews, Tim	1
	- McBride, Stephanie	1
	- Mouse, Mickey	1
	<ul><li>Myer, Tina</li><li>Ohlquist, Skip</li></ul>	1 1
	- Oniquist, Skip - Pullar, Ralph	1 1
	- Rautio, Troy	1
	- Riley, Scott	1
	- Roberts, James	1
	- Rolando, Jim	1
	- Rousseau, Tim	1
Write-in	- Salo, Matt	1
	- Shermoen, Jerod	1
	- Short, Chris	1
	- Silvers, Paul T	1
	- Simon, Orin	1
	- Sjoblom, Duane	1
	- Skogstad-Ditsch, Roxanne	1
	- Smith, JoAnn	1 1
Write-in Write-in	<ul><li>Swendsen, Frank</li><li>Wenberg, Clayton</li></ul>	1
V V I I I G-II I	Tronborg, Slayton	1

Write-in	- Williams, Phil	1
Write-in	- Wood, Barry	1
Write-in	- Wood, Ray	1
Write-in	- Wood, Rhonda	1
Write-in	- Zoupas, Howard	1

- 3. Candidates Tom Holt, Heather McBride and Toni Korpi having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2015.
- 4. The school clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

Motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Member Darrell Wagner and being put to voice vote, the following voted in favor thereof: Gordon Dault, Mike Holden, Darrell Wagner, Dena Wenberg

the following voted against: none and the following abstained: none

whereupon the Chairperson declared the motion passed and the resolution adopted.

Dena Wenberg

Attest: Dena Wenberg, Acting Clerk

#### 7.0 CANVASS SCHOOL BOARD SPECIAL ELECTION RESULTS:

Member Darrell Wagner moved the adoption of the following resolution:

# RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 361, State of Minnesota, as follows:

It is hereby found, determined and declared that the special election of the voters of this school district held on November 4, 2014, was in all respects duly and legally called and held. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, at said election a total of 4286 voters of the school district voted on the question of "shall the School Board of Independent School District 361 consist of seven members", of which 2858 voted in favor, 1079 voted against the same, and there were 253 completely blank or defective ballots. Said proposition, having received the approval of at least a majority of such votes, is hereby declared to have carried.

Motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by member Mike Holden and being put to voice vote, the following voted in favor thereof: Gordon Dault, Mike Holden, Darrell Wagner, Dena Wenberg

The following voted against: none And the following abstained: none

Whereupon the Chairperson declared the motion passed and the resolution adopted.

<u>Dena Wenberg</u>
Attest: Dena Wenberg, Acting Clerk

## 8.0 ADJOURNMENT

Moved by D. Wagner, seconded by M. Holden to adjourn the meeting at 5:02 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

D. Wenberg, Acting Clerk	