MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 1

HELD AT THE ARGENTA-OREANA MIDDLE SCHOOL/HIGH SCHOOL, 500 NORTH MAIN ST., ARGENTA, ILLINOIS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 9, 2019.

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 1, Macon and DeWitt Counties, Illinois, (Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District No. 1) convened on August 12, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the Argenta-Oreana Middle School/High School Library at 500 North Main Street, Argenta, Illinois pursuant to notice of regular meeting having been given in due form of law Todd Armstrong, President, in the Chair, and with a legal quorum as follows: Summer Boyd, Maria Lightner, Dick Logue, Jeff Schroetlin, Lori Sprague, Rory Tipsword, and Todd Armstrong. Also present: Damian Jones, Superintendent; Sean German, Principal; Pat Blair, Principal; Amanda Ryder, Principal; and Mike Williams, Assistant Principal.

Administrative reports were presented.

A budget hearing was held at 6:08 p.m. by Mr Jones. The hearing ended at 6:11 p.m.

Rory TipswordMaria Lightner, second, made a motion at 6:11 p.m. to enter closed session pursuant to the Open Meetings ACT – 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1), which permits a closed session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal or specific certified and/or non-certified employee(s) of the public body. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

The board reconvened the regular meeting at 6:19 p.m. with the following members in attendance: Summer Boyd, Maria Lightner, Dick Logue, Jeff Schroetlin, Lori Sprague, Rory Tipsword, and Todd Armstrong.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve the August 12, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Maria Lightner/Lori Sprague, second, made a motion to approve payroll and bills. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to accept the resignations of Amber Allison as Co-Coach of MS Scholastic Bowl; Will Ferguson as bus driver; and Gwyn Jones as MS Girls Basketball Assistant Coach. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Lori Sprague/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to hire Kristin Reynolds as MS Co-Scholastic Bowl Coach; Gwyn Jones as MS Girls Basketball Head Coach; Amanda Spinner & Zach Miles as Co-Science Olympiad Coaches; Keith Schmutzler as High School Scholastic Bowl Coach; and Kendra Robinson as HS Special Education Aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to hire Erica Armstrong as MS Girls Basketball Assistant Coach pending ASEP certification. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-abstain.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to adopt the FY20 budget as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve the Administrator & Teacher Salary &
Benefits Report as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-
yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

5903

Rory Tipsword/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to adjourn at 6:26 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; Rory Tipsword-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

APPROVED	DBY
	Secretary
APPROVED BY	
	President