MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 1

HELD AT THE ARGENTA-OREANA MIDDLE SCHOOL/HIGH SCHOOL, 500 NORTH MAIN ST., ARGENTA, ILLINOIS ON MONDAY, AUGUST 12, 2019.

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 1, Macon and DeWitt Counties, Illinois, (Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District No. 1) convened on August 12, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the Argenta-Oreana Middle School/High School Library at 500 North Main Street, Argenta, Illinois pursuant to notice of regular meeting having been given in due form of law Todd Armstrong, President, in the Chair, and with a legal quorum as follows: Summer Boyd, Maria Lightner, Dick Logue, Jeff Schroetlin, Lori Sprague, and Todd Armstrong. Also present: Damian Jones, Superintendent; Sean German, Principal; Pat Blair, Principal; and Mike Williams, Assistant Principal.

Comments from staff occurred.

Administrative reports were presented.

Summer Boyd/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion at 6:10 p.m. to enter closed session pursuant to the Open Meetings ACT – 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) & (c)(2), which permits a closed session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal or specific certified and/or non-certified employee(s) of the public body and collective negotiating matters. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Summer Boyd/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to reconvene the regular meeting at 6:45 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Lori Sprague/Dick Logue, second, made a motion to approve the July 8, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Jeff Schroetlin/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve payroll and bills. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Maria Lightner/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to accept the resignations of Steve Kirk as PE/Weights teacher and HS boys track coach effective immediately. He is resigning as Varsity Football coach at the conclusion of the 2019 season. Kathryn Donaldson has resigned as fifth grade teacher pending official hire at Maroa-Forsyth. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Maria Lightner/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to hire Paul Reeve as bus driver conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Cortney Tippit as ES PE Aide conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Samantha Gibbs as district teacher conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Tim Martin as MS Assistant basketball coach conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Dawn Rose as district teacher conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Dawn Rose as district teacher conditional upon and subject to the results of a criminal background investigation; Kristi Adams as MS First Assistant Volleyball coach; Amber Allison and Yvonne O'Connor will share the MS Scholastic Bowl position; and Rob Whitcher as Assistant High School Scholastic Bowl coach. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Summer Boyd/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to approve volunteer coaches Austin Welker for MS baseball and Alan Hupp for HS Football. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Lori Sprague, second, made a motion to approve the contract agreement between A-O CUSD #1 & AOEA as presented. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Summer Boyd, second, made a motion to approve compensation increases for ESP as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-abstain.

Dick Logue/Lori Sprague, second, made a motion to approve compensation and applicable contract extensions for administrators as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

Dick Logue/Maria Lightner, second, made a motion to approve facility upgrades up for \$50,000 for improvements at the bus parking lot for drainage; MS/HS parking lot concrete for \$8,000 from Midwest Concrete, and up to \$9,000 for improvements at the softball field as proposed. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

FY20 Budget Presentation was presented by Mr Jones.

Dick Logue/Jeff Schroetlin, second, made a motion to adjourn at 7:04 p.m. The roll vote: Summer Boyd-yes; Maria Lightner-yes; Dick Logue-yes; Jeff Schroetlin-yes; Lori Sprague-yes; and Todd Armstrong-yes.

APPROVE	EDBY
	Secretary
APPROVED BY	
	President