

Brian Corlett Superintendent Phone: (952) 467-7000 Fax: (952) 467-7003

Tom Erickson Secondary Principal Phone: (952) 467-7100 Fax: (952) 467-7103

Ron Erpenbach Middle School Principal Activities Director Phone: (952) 467-7200 Fax: (952) 467-7203

Michael Daugs Elementary Principal Phone: (952) 467-7300 Fax: (952) 467-7303

Julie Kuenzel Community Ed. Director Phone: (952) 467-7390 Fax: (952) 467-7303

Caitlin Featherman Guidance Counselor Phone: (952)467-7018 Fax: (952) 467-7165

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Elroy H. Latzig Chairperson

Dean Lind Vice Chairperson

Richard Schug Clerk

Scott Knight Treasurer

Sara Eischens Director Nicole Evenski Director

> Craig Pexa Director

# Central Public Schools

#### The Raiders

Independent School District #108 531 Morse Street—P.O. Box 247 Norwood Young America, MN 55368

Independent School District #108
Regular Board Meeting
Monday, January 28, 2019
6PM

**Cologne Community Center** 

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll call
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- Election of Board Officers
- 5. Recognition: District 108 is Proud Of
- 6. Approval of the Agenda
- 7. Approval of the Minutes
- 8. Approval of the Consent Agenda
- 9. Comments from Visitors
- 10. Monthly Reports
- 11. Items
  - 11.1 Donations
  - 11.2 2019-2020 SY calendar
  - 11.3 Resolution of LEA Authorization
  - 11.4 Resolution Directing the Administration to make recommendations
  - 11.5 Board Committee Assignments
  - 11.6 Seniority Lists
  - 11.7 Lane Change Request
  - 11.8 Approve Letter(s) of Assignment
  - 11.9 RFP Lawn Care Service
  - 11.10 Approve volunteers
- 12. Board Reports
- 13. Next Board Meeting
- 14. Round Table Discussion
- 15. Adjourn

An Equal Opportunity Employer Drug-Free Workplace/Drug-Free School

- 1. Meeting called to order by Chair
- Roll Call
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Election of board officers:
  - 4.1 Chair
  - 4.2 Vice Chair
  - 4.3 Treasurer
  - 4.4 Clerk
- 5. Recognition: District 108 Is Proud Of:

## ~The following Elementary Students for Responsibility in December:

Lydia Storms, Brooke Kranz, Ava Arnold, Will Vos, Austin Fasching, Oliver Wasness, Emma Klinkner, Skyler Hagerstrom, Jace Lovelette, Eli Schade, Bristol Wolter, Tori Dvorak, Olivia Grams, Brynnly Dettmann, MaKenzie Braun, Calvin Kroelss, Kimberly Fernandez, Macie Clabots, Emily Hecksel, Wyatt Kolstad, Layla Honl, Jared Kleven Mason Maass, Emily Schmidt, Aubrey Harris, Molly Bladow, Brianna Duenow, Payton Stender, Memphis Feist, Lauren Molnau, Brielle Akinde, Josiah Henke, Owen Miller Ezra Swanson, Joey Kostecka, Lexy Allison, Adilynn Peterson, Payton Schneider Grant Schefers, Silas Zabel, Tenley Read, Bethany Daugs, Isiah Boyer, Emmitt Barthel, Alejo Mendoza, Kiera Eischens, Destiny Henke, Sam Davis, Emma Krohn.

## ~The following Middle School January Award Winners:

-Academic Achievement

8th grade: Elizabeth Becker & Noah Strickfaden

7th grade: Danica Dietzel & Kieran Allison

6th grade: Haley Neubarth & Jack Strickfaden

- Lions' Citizenship Award

8th grade: Samantha Krohn & Bennet Molva 7th grade: Allyson Hedin & Nicklas Poppler 6th grade: Ariana Maganda & Ethan Hutchins

-Character Award

8th grade: Amber Schmidt 7th grade: Caleb Bohlman 6th grade: Jacob Proskin

### ~The Patriot's Pen Essay Winners

1st place - Samantha Krohn

2nd place - Ava Franck

3rd place - Jackson Van Horn

## ~Teacher of the Year: Rachel Sandquist

- ~Jennifer Schneider for her work to get the project "Non-Fiction for 7th Grade" funded by DonorsChoose.org.
- ~Jaret Glander for being named Senior Student of the Month
- 6. Approve the Agenda as presented or amended.
- 7. Approve the Minutes of the Monday, Dec. 17, 2019, regular board meeting.

- Approve the Consent Agenda:
  - 8.1 Trial Balance Summary Report
  - 8.2 Cash Reconciliation
  - 8.3 December Receipts
  - 8.4 December Expenditures
  - 8.5 Expenditure Comparison
  - 8.6 Expenditure Comparison by Object
  - 8.7 January Board Bills
  - 8.8 January Taxes & Liabilities
  - 8.9 January Manual Payments
  - 8.10 Payroll
  - 8.11 Extra Curricular Cash Flow
  - 8.12 Enrollments
- 9. Comments from visitors.
- 10. Monthly Reports
  - 10.1 Student Council Report
  - 10.2 Elementary Principal's Report
  - 10.3 Middle School Principal/Activities Director's Report
  - 10.4 High School Principal's Report
  - 10.5 Superintendent's Report
- 11. Items
  - 11.1 Approve the following Donations:
    - a) \$89.99 from West Carver Lions to MS/HS SpEd for Wobble Chairs
  - 11.2 Discuss and approve the 2019-2020 school year calendar as presented.
  - 11.3 Recommend adoption of the resolution authorizing LEA representatives in filing application for Title funds.
  - 11.4 Recommend adoption of the Resolution Directing the Administration to make recommendations for reduction in programs and positions and reasons therefor.
  - 11.5 **School Board Committees** (2019 Reps)
    - Minnesota State High School League
      - Representative: (Pexa; Alt: Schug)
    - Systems Accountability
      - Representatives: (Eischens, Lind; Alternate: Evenski)
    - Early Childhood Family Education Council
      - Representatives: (Latzig, Evenski; Alternate: Schug)
    - Community Education Board
      - Representatives: (Evenski; Alt: Latzig)
    - Continuing Education
      - Representatives: (Knight; Alternate: Lind)
    - Negotiation Committees:
    - MN School Employees Association:
      - Representatives: (Evenski, Pexa, Eischens)
    - Teachers Association:
      - Representatives: (Knight, Lind, Schug)
    - Superintendent:
      - Representatives: (Lind, Schug, Eischens)

- Principals/Administration:
  - Representatives (Knight, Lind, Eischens)
- Non Union Support Staff, Technology Director, Community Ed. Director:
  - Representatives (Knight, Evenski, Pexa)

## Latzig will serve as alternate on all negotiation committees

- MN School Board Association
  - Representative:
- Staff Development
  - Representatives: (Evenski; Alternate: Lind)
- Southwest Metro Educational Coop
  - Representative: (Schug Alt: Latzig)
- Carver County Elected Leadership Committee
  - Representative: (Knight)
- Meet and Confer
  - Representatives: (Knight, Pexa, Latzig; Alt: Lind)
- Technology Committee
  - Representatives: (Pexa)
- Community Development Committee
  - Representative: (Latzig; Alt: Lind)
- Finance Committee
  - Representative: (Latzig: Alternate: Knight)
- Facilities Committee
  - Representatives: (Evenski, Schug, Lind; Alternate: Pexa)
- Policy Committee:
  - Representatives (Pexa, Lind, Eischens; Alternate: Knight)
- 11.6 Approve the 2018-2019 SY Seniority Lists:
  - a) Certified Staff
  - b) MSEA Staff
- 11.7 Approve lane changes for:
  - a) Devon Ruberg to MA+60
  - b) Alissa Friend to MA+60
  - c) Donna Boesche to MA+30
  - d) Rachel Sandquist to MA15
- 11.8 Approve the following letters of assignment:
  - a) Gary Lembcke Girls Varsity Basketball Coach
  - b) Pamela Johnson Dance Team Coach
  - c) Brooke Raether 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Softball Coach
- 11.9 RFP Lawn Care & Maintenance Services
- 11.10 Approve the following volunteer assistant coaches:
  - a) Wallace Michaels Wrestling
  - b) Tyson Tellers Wrestling
  - c) Missy Isles 1 Act Play

- 12. Board Reports
- 13. Next Board meeting is scheduled for Mon., February 25, 2019 6PM, HS Room A240
- 14. Round Table discussion
- 15. Adjourn