August 8, 2022

The Board of Education of the School District of Marshall met in special session on Monday, August 8, 2022 in the Central Office at 6:00 p.m.

Present were: President Bryon Jacques, and members Erin Meyer, Brad Shepard, Matt Smith, Harry Carrell, and Jack Lenz. Also Caleb Petet, Superintendent of Schools; Linda Perkins, Board Secretary; David Reinke, Assistant Superintendent; Christy Jones, MHS Principal; and Travis Reid, BMS Principal.

Absent: Ellen Lance

Mr. Jacques announced leasing, purchase, or sale of real estate had been added to the closed session agenda.

On a motion by Dr. Meyer, seconded by Mr. Shepard, the board adjourned at 6:02 p.m. to reconvene in executive session with closed record and closed vote pursuant Section 610.021 (1) legal actions involving the district, attorney communications; (2) Leasing, purchase, or sale of real estate; (3) hiring, terminating, disciplining or promoting; and (13) personnel records, evaluations, applications. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard Nayes: None

In executive a motion was made by Mr. Carrell, seconded by Dr. Meyer, to enter into executive session and approve the closed session agenda. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard Nayes: None

Mr. Smith arrived.

On a motion by Dr. Meyer, seconded by Mr. Carrell, the board accepted the resignations of the following:

- Lanie Vader, PN Secretary
- Adam Viquesney, Benton Focus Room Para
- Fallon Browder, School Nurse
- Karen Salmeron, Spainhower Para
- Josh Glassmaker, Assistant Baseball Coach

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard Nayes: Smith On a motion by Dr. Meyer, seconded by Mr. Carrell, the board approved the employment of the following:

- Shani Parham, SLP-A
- Haley Leimkuehler, TLC Personal Para
- Paul Gieringer, MHS Forensics and Modern Issues (550 hours)
- Jim Papreck, MHS Advanced Math (550 hours)
- Haley Holmes, Spainhower Early Childhood Para
- Heather Howard, Benton Focus Room Para
- Jim Heinzler, MHS Assistant Principal (critical shortage)
- Collin Vaillancourt, MHS Science Consultant
- Bette Gorrell, Sub Secretary, PN Program
- Cherri Durham, BMS FACS Teacher (critical shortage)
- Becky VanVactor, MHS Special Education (critical shortage)
- Jeffrey Cott, MHS Special Ed. Teacher Long Term Substitute
- Eva Cordes, MHS Health Teacher Long Term Substitute
- James Davis, MHS Industrial Arts Teacher
- Megan Maupin, PN/Community Ed Secretary
- Quian Painter, BMS Para
- Christopher Hernandez, Volunteer Boys Soccer Coach

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Mr. Carrell, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board approved a \$10,000 stipend to Lori Layton, MHS Math Teacher, for approximately 100 extra Math students during the 2022-23 school year. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Dr. Meyer, seconded by Mr. Shepard, the board approved a \$40 per month cell phone stipend to the following:

- Mindi Coslet, MHS Assistant Principal
- Jim Heinzler, MHS Assistant Principal
- Falon Bossaller, BMS Assistant Principal
- Meghan Tichenor, BMS Assistant Principal
- Julie Geritz, Spainhower Assistant Principal

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None Abstain: Carrell On a motion by Mr. Carrell, seconded by Mr. Shepard, the board approved a contract with Carol Embree, financial consultant, in the amount of \$10,000.

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None

Legal issues and lease/sale or land was discussed. No action was taken.

On a motion by Mr. Carrell, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board approved to return to regular session. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the meeting was adjourned at 7:27 p.m. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Jacques, Meyer, Shepard, Smith Nayes: None

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education