## July 26, 2022

The Board of Education of the School District of Marshall met in regular session on Tuesday, July 26, 2022 at Spainhower Primary School at 6:00 p.m.

Present: President Bryon Jacques and Members Erin Meyer, Matt Smith, Harry Carrell, Ellen Lance, and Jack Lenz. Also Caleb Petet, Superintendent of Schools; Linda Perkins, Board Secretary; David Reinke, Assistant Superintendent, Grace Durham, Director of Special Services; Travis Reid, BMS Principal; Christy Jones, MHS Principal; Mindi Coslet, MHS Assistant Principal; Norine Gaskill, NW TLC Principal; Austin Boland, representing KMMO; and citizens of the district.

Absent: Brad Shepard

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Lenz, the board approved the minutes of the June 27 regular board meeting, the June 29 Board Retreat, and the July bills totaling \$717,272.64.

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Smith, the agenda was unanimously adopted for the remainder of the meeting.

During Public Comment time, board member Jack Lenz reported he had been approached by members of the community regarding the school district not being accredited after which he did inform them that the district was accredited.

Caleb Petet, Superintendent, reviewed his first 100 days in the position of Superintendent. Items reviewed where board retreat; Governance Plan revised; risk assessment audit; board meeting norms; exit interview process; Facebook pages consolidated across the district; communication plan adopted; and public statements prepared and delivered to the media regarding our work to ensure that as we start the new school year, we are working diligently to create better policies, practices, and procedures to protect our students.

David Reinke, Assistant Superintendent, showed some interior pictures of the high school. Doors are being installed, flooring is still being laid, paint touch ups will be done and all will hopefully be done by the first week of August. An in ground fuel tank was inspected at the bus barn last month and a crack was found. Cost to repair will be \$8,005.34. A colony of termites was found in the front wall of Southeast Elementary School and treatment to remove the termites will be \$2,005.95. He thanked all the people who have helped him this past month.

The board set the date of the Tax Rate Hearing for 5:45 p.m. prior to the August 23 board meeting.

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board approved a job description for an Occupational Therapy Assistant.

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board approved a change order to The Floor Guys in the amount of \$25,740 for base board and trim in common areas at the high school. The motion carried on the following vote:

Ayes: Lance, Jacques, Meyer, Smith Nayes: Carrell, Lenz

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board approved the readoption of MSBA Policy BBFA (Board Member Conflict of Interest and Financial Disclosure).

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board unanimously approved changing the date of monthly board meetings from the Tuesday on or after the 20th of the month to the 4th Tuesday of the month (MSBA Policy BDA).

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Carrell, the following Special Education and Federal Programs contracts were unanimously approved: Perkins Freedom Mobility (Braille and Orientation & Mobility Services); Research to Practice (Speech/Language Supervision through MSBA); and Local Compliance Plan.

On a motion by Mr. Carrell, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board adjourned at 6:55 p.m. to reconvene in executive session with closed record and closed vote pursuant Section 610.021 (3) hiring, terminating disciplining or promoting; and (13) personnel records, evaluations, applications. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

In executive session, a motion was made by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Smith, to enter into executive session, approve the previous closed session minutes, and approve the closed season agenda. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board accepted the resignation of Cynthia Dillion, BMS Paraprofessional. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Mrs. Lance, seconded by Mr. Smith, the board approved the employment of the following:

Hannah Viets, Lead FFA Advisor Lanie Vader, PN Secretary Margret Severini, BMS Girls' PE Teacher Terri Hart, MHS Special Education Teacher Ian Verts, Boys Golf Coach Jeremy Gochenour, MHS Math Long Term Sub Alexis Josling, MHS Science Long Term Sub Matthew Tolin, BMS Custodian Kevin Lines, Part-time Band Assistant Sarah Sponseller, Part-time Orchestra Assistant Ricarda Garcia, MHS MO Options and Alternative Ed Long Term Sub Jasmin Morales, BMS 8th Language Arts Long Term Sub Sundance McClellan, NW TLC Paraprofessional Luke Vollenweider, BMS 8th Social Studies Lari Welch, BMS Math Department Chair Katie Kirchhoff, BMS Noon Duty Kathy Papreck, BMS Breakfast Reading Club Daniel Wright, BMS Fine Arts Department Chair Nick Hager, Assistant Boys Basketball Coach James Curtis, MHS Biology Long Term Sub

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Smith Nayes: None Abstain: Meyer

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mrs. Lance, the board approved the following cell phone stipends, \$40 per month, to the following employees:

Asst. Superintendent - David Reinke Special Ed. Director - Grace Durham Director of Teaching and Learning - Laura Jacobi MHS Principal - Christy Jones Athletic Director - Kelly Callanan SCCC Director - Brian Wilcoxson BMS Principal - Travis Reid Spainhower Principal - Kim Alberson Southeast Principal - Rendy Maupin Benton Principal - Jinnah Gaudreau Eastwood Principal - Amy Heuman TLC Principal - Norine Gaskill Director of Transportation - Craig Thompson Distribution - Troy Ballew SRO - Sam Gibson SRO - Mark Gooden Custodial Director - Michael Varner Technology - Wesley Christian Bus Mechanic - Vicente Santos Maintenance - Brandn McNulty Maintenance - Brandon Stanton Maintenance - Tony Turner Maintenance - Joe McNulty Building & Grounds - Jimmy Hoffman Social Worker - Lindsey Parton Social Worker - Eden DeGonie Social Worker - Jessica Parker HRC Manager - Whitney O'Bryan

The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

They were told of the transfers of the following: Tammy Minkler, Spainhower Early Childhood Paraprofessional to Spainhower Personal Paraprofessional.

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Carrell, the board approved to return to open session.

Ayes: Carrell, Jacques, Lance, Lenz, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

On a motion by Mr. Smith, seconded by Dr. Meyer, the board adjourned at 8:15 p.m. The motion carried on a roll call vote.

Ayes: Carrell, Lenz, Lance, Jacques, Meyer, Smith Nayes: None

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education

The next regular meeting of the Marshall Board of Education is Tuesday, August 23, at Spainhower Primary. The Tax Rate Hearing will be held at 5:45 p.m. followed by the monthly board meeting.