85955 Territorial Road

Eugene, Oregon 97402

541/935-2100 Fax 541/935-6107



Meeting Minutes March 14, 2011

Lorane Elementary 7:00 PM


6:30 PM Executive Session (Session under the authority of ORS 192-660)


Meeting was called to order by Board Chair Jeff Ramp at 7:07 PM.

Directors present were Darren Willits, and Troy Wilson. Absent Dean Livelybrooks and Denice Goodheart. Staff Present: Superintendent, Susan Nakaba, Director Business Services, Lee Ann Hartwig, Principal, Ron Osibov, and Director Special Education, Georgann Squire. Special Guests: YTP Coordinator, Kathy Davis, Students, Travis Hansen, Kayla Gray, Shawna Diess, Lane Diess, and Riley Engels Patrons present: Lorena Mitchell, Kyle Rolnick.


II Agenda Review


III Public Comment on Non Agenda Items None


IV Reports


Board Chair, Jeff Ramp discussed his meeting with the Booster Club, and their desire to take on this year the auction (instead of the Senior Class). The auction is set for May 21, 2011 and funds would go towards supporting the Sports program and possibly the Athletic Directors position.

Jeff Ramp also reminded the board and the patrons of the 2 open seats that would be closing March 17, 2011.


Superintendent, Susan Nakaba discussed with the board House Bill 3550 and its roll in the district. (see attachment). Discussion was held regarding the CIP Plan and that it had been submitted and approved. Discussion was held regarding the Transition Team consisting of 17 staff members, patrons, and students. The first meeting is to be scheduled in the near future.


V Consent Agenda


a)                 Action Items


Moved by Troy Wilson, seconded by Darren Willits and carried 3-0-2 to accept the following actions items as submitted to the board. Dean and Denice absent.

         Board Minutes for February 14, 2011 Regular Board Meeting

         Special Board Meeting March 2, 2011

         February 2011 District Check Register

         Retirement of Markay Wilson


b)                 Approval of Certified Staff from Probationary to Contract Status


Moved by Darren Willits, seconded by Troy Wilson and carried 3-0-2 to accept the following certified staff to Contract status for 2011/2012. Dean Livelybrooks and Denice Goodheart absent.

o       Michele Kau

o       Melinda Matchulat

o       Carol May

o       Krissy Smith


VI Discussion Items:


      Curriculum Committee

      April 11th 2011, Board Meeting, 7:00 PM AES

      March 30th, Executive Session Superintendent Evaluation, 6:30 PM.


Meeting Adjourned 7:52 PM