MERIDIAN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 15 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

May 16, 2022

The Meridian Community Unit School District No. 15 Board of Education held a regular meeting on Monday, May 16, 2022, in the Board Room, Macon Campus. President Hogan called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The following Members were in attendance: Monte Hogan, Chris Jones, Rebecca Kraft, Adam Herbert. Members Roush, Morey and Gorden were absent. Also in attendance were: Andy Pygott, Superintendent; Eric Hurelbrink, High School Principal; Mindy McGuire, Middle School Principal (entered at 6:50); Lori Guebert, Elementary Principal; and Michelle Miller, Recording Secretary.

Rebecca Kraft presented retirement plaques to two employees. Karen Boyer retires after 35 years with the district as an elementary teacher. Doug Powers is retiring after 11 years of service as custodian. Both will be greatly missed and we wish them well!

Meridian Elementary May Students of the Month:

Kindergarten- Kinzlee Zindars, Emma Dudley, Jude Davidson

1st Grade- Wyatt Stower, Brylee Campbell, Nolen Householder, Dominic Hight

2nd Grade- Henry Moyer, Levi Johnson, Teegan Waldrop, Hazelynn Cole

3rd Grade- Aubrey Friedman, Addilynn Bernard, Elijah Danbury, Easton Noland

4th Grade- Keyran Pfeiffer, Rae'Lynn Shafer, Attison McNeely

5th Grade- Jackson Olinger, Brayden Hollgarth, Chloe Elder

Administrators gave reports.

Eric Hurelbrink commended Todd Collins on the great display for the Snitker baseball field dedication.

Wyatt Wilcox asked permission to build an outdoor seating area as part of his Eagle Scout Project.

Kaylin Moreland qualified to compete in the state track meet.

Follow-up Items from Superintendent:

District copiers- CI Digital submitted a proposal for Toshiba copiers. John Enlow, who spent 21 years in the industry, was present to give his opinion on the machines. Andy will keep the Board updated with information on pricing.

Middle school gym roof- King Lar submitted a quote for roof repair. The Board would like them to also look at the elementary roof. Mr. Pygott will look into the guidelines of the maintenance grant to see if it can be used for multiple projects.

New Items:

Pricing on new water fountains with bottle filling capacity will be obtained for the elementary school.

Looking at addition of security cameras at each campus for "blind spots".

Thoughts were shared on the addition of an activity bus. Mr. Pygott has been approached by coaches and FFA that would benefit from a smaller bus. The Board feels the old bus was not utilized enough to warrant the purchase of another.

On a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Herbert, the consent agenda was approved which consists of April 19, 2022 minutes, special meeting minutes of April 25, 2022, April financial reports, May disbursement as follows:

Education \$121,750.88 Building \$9,890.52 Debt \$163,746.03 Transport \$11,771.54

Life Safety \$1,285.52 TOTAL: \$308,444.49(does not include payroll)

Also included are the following resignations:

Susan Hagan, District Chorus teacher; Morgan Wendt, MDL Math; Micah Sheppard, HS PE, head football & boy's track coach; Brandon Windell, MDL girls' basketball assistant coach; Kimberly Wright, bus driver; Tricia Campbell, NHS sponsor; Ashley Dawson, girls' soccer coach; Alex Damery, ELEM special education teacher; and retirement of Doug Powers, custodian. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Budget analysis presented.

Amended budget presented. This will be on display in the district office then placed on the June 20th agenda for approval.

The agreement with Refreshment Services was reviewed. Amendments will be presented to Pepsi.

The first reading of Board Policies was presented.

There was a District Technology Committee meeting on May 9th. There was discussion on the new MFA requirements that will be implemented. Member Jones would like more information on this process.

Mr. Pygott presented insurance renewal quotes provided by two agents. On a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Herbert, the Board approved the property/casualty, worker's compensation and student accident insurance from Gallagher Risk Management Services for the 2022-2023 school year as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

The Board approved the annual audit agreement with Floyd & Associates as presented on a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Kraft. Motion carried 4-0.

Member Jones, seconded by Member Herbert, motioned to approve the Sports Medicine Services agreement as amended. Motion carried 4-0. There is one update that was made to Section V in the agreement last year that needs to be revised to state the same for this agreement.

On a motion by Member Herbert, seconded by Member Kraft, the Board adjourned to executive session at 8:38 p.m. for the purpose of discussing matters pertaining to the

employment, appointment, or dismissal of specific employees or officers, purchase or sale of property, pending legal matters, student discipline, and negotiations. Motion carried 4-0.

The Board returned at 9:27 p.m. on a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Herbert. Motion carried.

Member Herbert, seconded by Member Kraft, motioned to approve Madison Houser as MDL math teacher for 2022-2023 school year. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Member Jones, seconded by Member Kraft, motioned to approve Kalyn Holdener as Pre-k parent coordinator for 2022-2023. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Member Kraft, seconded by Member Herbert, motioned to approve Breanna Johnson as Elem Title I & RTI aide for 2022-2023. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Erin Moyer was approved as MDL/HS RTI aide for 2022-2023 on a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Kraft. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Scott Barr was approved as MDL boys basketball coach for 2022-2023 on a motion by Member Herbert, seconded by Member Jones. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Brian Britton was approved as MDL baseball coach for 2022-2023 on a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Kraft. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Member Herbert, seconded by Member Kraft, motioned to approve the following 2022 Summer school teachers: Ashley Wegeng, Sarah Hott, Alyssa Holsapple, Jennifer Hendricks. Motion carried on a roll call vote 4-0.

Member Jones, seconded by Member Herbert, motioned to approve administrator salary schedule as revised. Motion carried 4-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:29 p.m. on a motion by Member Jones, seconded by Member Kraft. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be held June 20, 6:30 p.m.

Monte Hogan, Board President	Rebecca Kraft, Board Secretary