MERIDIAN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 15 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

March 21, 2022

The Meridian Community Unit School District No. 15 Board of Education held a regular meeting on Monday, March 21, 2022, in the Board Room, Macon Campus. Vice-President Clint Gorden called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The following Members were in attendance: Clint Gorden, Matt Roush, Kara Morey, and Adam Herbert. Members Hogan and Kraft were absent. Member Jones entered after roll call. Also in attendance were: Andy Pygott, Superintendent; Eric Hurelbrink, High School Principial; Mindy McGuire, Middle School Principal; Lori Guebert, Elementary Principal; and Michelle Miller, Recording Secretary.

Meridian Elementary February Students of the Month:

Kindergarten- Keaton Davis, Teddie England, Cayde Davis

1st Grade- Kennedy Clark, Abigail Davidson, Corryn Tipton, Anderson Oliver

2nd Grade- Elexia Davis, ZoeyBell Brilley, Rosie Walton, Sloane Bush

3rd Grade- Brooklyn McNeely, Faith Eller, LillyAnn Harris, Braelynn Hott

4th Grade- Autumn Allard, Jensen Dawson, Piper Canady

5th Grade- Beckham Bardfield, Hannah Kraft, Cash Beasley

High School Students of the Month:

Isabelle Pistorius, Rose Hutton, Ty Lasco, Avril Morrell, Reagan Cheek, Dez Fringer, Annabelle Nailer, Caleb South, Connor Ryan, Addison Clark, Reagan Jesse, Brady Pierce, Eloise Fitzpatrick, Zoe Shride, Grant Meisenhelter

Administrators gave their reports:

The middle school held an induction ceremony for 25 new students joining the honor society. Congratulations to Alayna Bickel who finished 2nd at the Regional Spelling Bee.

Congratulations to Cole Rappe and Kaylin Moreland who were recommended for their state FFA degrees. Further congratulations to Cole who moved on to State with his record book. Madison Sapp and Cole Rappe will represent Meridian at the Macon County Regional High School Principal's Student Recognition lunch in April.

The high school yearbook was awarded with the Southern Illinois Scholastic Press Association's Golden Dozen award.

Congratulations to the boys basketball starting five for being selected to the CIC All-Conference Teams: Graham Meisenhelter & Mekhi Phillips- 1st team; Drew Hurelbrink, Riley Day & Grant Meisenhelter- 2nd Team

Also congratulations to Ella Woolington for being selected as CIC All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Superintendent Follow-Up:

The Building & Transportation Committee will meet on Thursday, March 24 to continue discussion on the middle school roof. They will also review a report on the buses and the timeline for the Ag facility.

Mr. Pygott reached out to Andy Manar regarding School Construction grants. It is hopeful that the grants will be available for FY23.

New Items:

Mr. Pygott met with the current insurance provider to discuss the upcoming renewal. He discussed the need for online banking for the district's main account and hopeful the current bank is able to offer that in the near future.

ISBE has announced that free lunches for all students will end with this school year. Fuel and energy contract reviews are upcoming.

Mr. Pygott will begin the process of looking at copy machines in April.

Member Jones commends the district treasurer, Pat Warnick, for noticing the fraudulent activity on the bank statement when balancing the month. He appreciates the People's Bank of Macon's cooperation and fast action to resolve the issue.

On a motion by Member Roush, seconded by Member Herbert, the Board approved the consent agenda which consists of February minutes and March disbursements as follows:

Education \$231237.39 Building \$34512.19
Transport \$13694.70 Total \$279444.28 (does not include payroll)
It also includes the following resignations: Hailee Ray as MDL track coach effective immediately and Lindsey Trimble as MES Pre-K Coordinator effective the end of the FY22 school year.

Mr. Pygott presented the budget analysis.

Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

The Board approved the IHSA membership for FY23 on a motion by Member Roush, seconded by Member Morey. There is no cost to the district for the upcoming school year. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Membership to IESA was also approved on a motion by Member Roush, seconded by Member Morey. The cost for this membership is \$1165.00. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Facility Requests from the Meridian Ball Association for youth basketball and summer baseball/softball were discussed. Jeff Kraft was present to answer/discuss the presented requests. On a motion by Member Roush, seconded by Member Herbert, the requests were granted with the understanding that all use is dependent upon the availability of the school gyms and fields. Members of the Ball Association Board will work with the athletic directors for scheduling. Motion carried 5-0.

On a motion by Member Morey, seconded by Member Jones, the Board adjourned to executive session at 7:22 p.m. for the purpose of discussing matters pertaining to the employment, appointment, or dismissal of specific employees or officers, purchase or sale of property, pending legal matters, student discipline, and negotiations. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Member Roush, seconded by Member Morey, motioned to return to open session at 8:19 p.m. Motion carried.

On a motion by Member Herbert, seconded by Member Morey, Bailey Felter was approved as an elementary teacher for 2022-2023 school year. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Stacy Smith was approved as middle school girls track coach for 2021-2022 school year on a motion by Member Herbert, seconded by Member Morey. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Member Morey, seconded by Member Herbert, motioned to approve the re-employment of the following non-tenure teachers: Kelsey Knopp, Aiden Perry, Kaleb Renfro, Jerry Brockett, Kirsten Durflinger, Dave McCleary, Christy Wherley, Tyler Clark, Morgan Wendt, Maggie Comerford, Susannah Moyer, Susan Hagan, Salli Pritts, Alex Damery, Sarah Hott, Megan Pistorius, Amie Reynolds, Ashley Wegeng, Alex Heffernan, Mariah Seitz, Adam Snively & Carrie Snow. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Brock Snarski was approved as volunteer middle school boys track coach for 2021-2022 school year on a motion by Member Herbert, seconded by Member Morey. Motion carried with 5 ayes.

Member Jones, seconded by Member Morey, motioned to accept the resignation of Britta Zucco, elementary teacher, at the end of the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:26 p.m. on a motion by Member Roush, seconded by Member Morey. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be Tuesday, April 19, 2022, 6:30 p.m. in the Board Room.

Monte Hogan, Board President	Rebecca Kraft, Board Secretary