

Joaquin Independent School District 11109 U.S. Highway 84 East, Joaquin, Texas 75954

Telephone (936) 269-3128 Fax (936) 269-3615 Phil Worsham, Superintendent Web Page www.joaquinisd.net



HEARING

Joaquin ISD conducted its annual Federal Programs meeting to discuss the use of federal funds for the 2009-2010 school year. Teachers, Paraprofessionals, Principals, Other School Personnel, Parents, Community Members and Business Representatives were invited to the attend this meeting to plan the 2009-2010 Consolidated Application on Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the Administration Office Board Room.

Minutes of School Board Meeting

May 21, 2009

1 The Joaquin ISD School Board met tonight in regular session at 7:30 p.m. in the Joaquin Boardroom with the following members present: Jay Dee Cockrell, Charles Leflett, Ronnie Belrose, Frank Cooper, Josh Cooper, and Jeff Hamilton. Swearing in of new board members Frank Cooper and Ronnie Belrose was conducted prior to the meeting.

Board members absent: Mark Stone

Guest(s) Present: None

Joaquin ISD Employee(s) Present: Phil Worsham, Superintendent; Joel McSwain, Director of Finance; Sherry Scruggs, Elementary Principal; Jennifer McCann, Administrator Assistant; Mid Johnson, JH/HS Principal; Tam Hearnsberger, Special Education Director; Terri Gray, Elementary Assistant Principal; Jimmy Jackson, JH/HS Assistant Principal

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m.

- 2 The invocation was led by Josh Cooper, and the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America by Frank Cooper, and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Texas Flag was led by Ronnie Belrose.
- 3 Report and Information items:
 - 3.1 Joaquin Elementary Distinguished School Award from Region VII Educational Service Center
 - 3.2 Review Monthly Financial Reports Joel McSwain, Director of Finance
 - 3.3 Texas Association of School Board Policy Update 85
 - 3.4 Student Transfer Report
 - 3.5 Calendar of activities
 - 3.6 Correspondence
- 4 Agenda Items for discussion, consideration, and possible action:
 - 4.1 It was moved by Josh Cooper, and seconded by Ronnie Belrose, to approve the previous meeting minutes. Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously.
 - 4.2 The floor was opened for the purpose of reorganizing the Joaquin ISD Board.
 - 4.2a Board President

The floor was open for Board President nomination. Jay Dee Cockrell and Mark Stone were nominated. No other nominations were made, nominations were closed. The vote was taken – Jay Dee Cockrell 1, Mark Stone 5. Mark Stone was elected President.

4.2b Board Vice President

The floor was open for Vice President nomination. Jay Dee Cockrell was nominated. No other nominations were made, nominations were closed.

Jay Dee Cockrell is the Vice President.

4.2c Board Secretary

The floor was open for Secretary nomination. Ronnie Belrose was nominated. No other nominations were made, nominations were closed. Ronnie Belrose is Board Secretary.

- 4.3 It was moved by Ronnie Belrose, and seconded by Josh Cooper, to approve applicant Designation and Certification for Consolidated Application for Federal Funding. Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. The vote was 5 for and 1 against (Charles Leflett). Motion carried.
- 4.4 It was moved by Jeff Hamilton, and seconded by Charles Leflett, to authorize Mr. Worsham to file a Petition Challenging Appraisal Records for the tax year 2009 if necessary. Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously.
- 5 Mark Stone, Board President, ask for items to be placed on the next board agenda.
- **6** Designation of date and time of next <u>regular</u> meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Joaquin ISD Monday, June 15th at 7:30p.m. Special meeting maybe necessary and shall be post in accordance with policy.
- 7 With no further business on the agenda the meeting was adjourn.

Jay Dee Cockrell, Vice President

Ronnie Belrose, Secretary