MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, May 23, 2023 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Dan Metz, President, Randa Yoak, Vice President, Mark Lowe, Brent Stewart, Darren Shearlock members, John McKown, Secretary.

Mr. Metz, called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Sophie Awan, Golden Horseshoe Winner.

On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board approved the agenda with changes by unanimous consent.

The Board recognized Sophie Awan & Lynsie Perdue, 2023 Golden Horseshoe Winners. Stacy Wager was presented with the Nancy Thomas Award.

Addressing the Board under Delegations: Valkyrie Shearlock/FBLA

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the minutes of the previous regular meeting, May 9, 2023, were approved by unanimous consent.

On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board approved payment of invoices totaling \$100,720.40. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved budge transfers totaling \$418,022.49. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved budget supplements totaling (\$108,686.00). On a motion by Mr. Shearlock, the Board approved FBLA NLC Funding totaling \$4,639.00. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved Teachers Annual, Service Personnel Monthly, Substitute Teacher, Substitute Principal, Supplemental Salary & Extra-Curricular Salary schedules for 2023-2024. The Board was presented the 2023-2024 Proposed Budget by Karen Cummings, Treasurer, Wirt County Schools, totaling \$16,585,507.00. On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board recessed at 7:21 pm for a public hearing regarding the 2023-2024 Proposed Budget. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board returned to regular session at 7:31 pm. On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board approved the 2023-2024 Proposed Budget by unanimous consent.

On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved Jeremy Kerby, Resignation, Head Boys Basketball Coach, WCMS, effective immediately. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved Sarah Villers, Resignation, Secretary, WCPC, effective June 30, 2023.

On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board employed Bradley Lockhart, Bus Operator, effective 2023-2024 school year. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board employed Kaitlyn Frame, Technology Coordinator, WCMS, effective 2023-2024 school year. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board employed Robert Hickman, Summer General Maintenance/Groundskeeper, effective June 5, 2023. On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board employed Ashley Gunnoe, Summer Program Special Education Teacher, effective June 16, 2023. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board employed the following Summer Band Camp Instructors: Kristina Lowe, Cora Stubbins, Christopher Goff, Nick Bain, Jocelyn Wass, Gabe French, Joseph Lutsy. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board employed the following 2023-2024 Professional Substitutes: Leanna Amos, Charlotte Blair, Deborah Boice, Jackie Bunch, Linda Collins, Linda Davies, Linda Demoss, Angie Domico-Cox, Elizabeth Dotson, Ryan Dotson, Patricia Egbert, Pat Fulmer, Rebecca Gilchrist, Michael Goodwin, Lisa Groves, Hunter Hickman, Helen Hill, Tiffany Hutchinson, Joyce Jarrel-Hicks, Vickie Keener, Lou Ann McVey, Amanda Moore (as needed), Patty Morrison, Josh Moss (as needed), Genenette Roberts, Brandy Sheppard, Rebecca Smith, Natasha Tichnell, Nathanael Watkins, Rebecca Watson, Pamela Wendelken,

MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Linda Williams, Adair Wilson, Tammy Wilson, Taylor Jones. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board employed the following 2023-2024 Service Substitutes: Peggy Ash, Aide, Thomas Bennett, Custodian (as needed), Connie Boyce, Cook, Amanda Brown, Custodian, Maintenance, Jackie Bunch, Secretary, Ryan Campbell, Maintenance, Terry Davis, Custodian, Samantha Delaney, Aide, Cook, Custodian, Melissa Dotson, Bus Operator, Cook, Custodian, William Dotson, Bus Operator, Katlyn Dye, Aide, Cook, Sheila Dye, Custodian, Secretary, Melissa Francis, Aide, Stephanie Hatfield, Secretary, Lyle Hickman, Bus Operator, Robert Hickman, Bus Operator, Maintenance, Vonda Jones, Aide, Cook, Nora Kelley, Aide, Cook, Misty McCulty, Aide, Cook, Kelsie Means, Aide, Cook, Amanda Moore, Maintenance (as needed), Curtis Moore, Bus Operator (as needed), Sara Parsons, Aide, George Priselac, Custodian, Mikaela Propst, Aide, Cook, Custodian, Iris Pursley, Cook, Genenette Roberts, Aide, Gary Robinson, Bus Operator, Maintenance, Yvonne Shears, Secretary, Rory Smith, Maintenance, Brooklyn Smith, Cook, Roberta Taylor, Cook.

On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board authorized 10 additional days to Angela Smith's contract for Summer Supervision. Mr. Metz voted no.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved 10 observation hours for Nicole Bailey, student, Glenville State University.

On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board approved the following Volunteer/Chaperone: Kalob Bell, WCHS.

On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board abolished WCMS, ESEERF 6th Grade Teacher. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board abolished WCPC, ESSERF Itinerate Teacher. On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board abolished Special Education Specialist. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board abolished Preschool Facilitator extra-curricular contract. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board abolished Graduation Coach, WCHS, extra-curricular contract. On a motion by Mr. Stewart, the Board abolished Math4Life Coordinator extra-curricular contract. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board abolished WCPC Second Grade Teacher.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board placed Policy G-10 Coaches Conduct on a 30-day comment period.

The next regular meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on June 13, 2023 at 6:00 pm in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board concerns the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Lowe.

*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.

_____, President

, Secretary