MINUTES OF THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

June 12, 2012

The Wirt County Board of Education met in their regular session on Tuesday, June 12, 2012, in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were James Rader, President, Jerry Ash, Vice President, Carl Brainard, Mark Lowe, and Chuck Mills, members, Daniel Metz, Superintendent and Karen Cummings, Treasurer.

Mr. Rader called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Mills, the minutes of the previous meeting held on Tuesday, May 22, 2012, were approved.

Addressing the meeting under Delegations/Callers were Kenny Perdue, Head Start Program, Kevin Sears, Presentation on List Server, Lou Ann McVey, Middle School PE Program Presentation, Debbie Moore, newspaper, Jon Sims, calendar & policies, Jeff Shears, calendar & policies, Krista Sims, netbooks & policies, and Gayle Hickman, about classroom instruction.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe, the Board authorized payments of invoices totaling \$81,789.83 & budget supplements totaling \$5,453.00. On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved CDW for netbook bids & replacements totaling \$77,820.50. On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved Traveler's Insurance for Worker's Compensation totaling \$38,470.00.

On a motion by Mr. Brainard, seconded by Mr. Ash, the Board employed Kelly Roberts, Supervisory Aide II, Pay Grade C, Preschool/Special Needs.

On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved out of county enrollment for Elizabeth Perdue, Alexis Petrovsky, A. J. Petrovsky, Stella Dunn, Ava Dunn, Reilly Hendershot, Sophia Steigleder, Brandyn Cooke, Aidyn Cooke, Layden Fordyce, Louden Fordyce, & Lilly Fordyce.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on Thursday, June 28, 2012 at 6:30 p.m. An organization meeting will be held on Monday, July 2, 2012 at 6:30 p.m. in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing board member concerns, the meeting adjorned on motion by Mr. Mill, seconded by Mr. Lowe.

*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.