MINUTES OF THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

July 26, 2011

The Wirt County Board of Education met in their regular session on Tuesday, July 26, 2011, in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were James Rader, President, Jerry Ash, Vice President, Carl Brainard, Mark Lowe, and Chuck Mills, members, Daniel Metz, Superintendent, and Karen Cummings, Treasurer.

Mr. Rader called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Mills, the minutes of the previous meeting held on July 12, 2011, were approved.

On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved payment of invoices totaling \$96,875.27, and budget supplements totaling \$17,512.00.

On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Mills, the following personnel actions were taken:

1) Accepted the resignation of Jeremy Metz as TIS and Tech Coordinator at WCMS, effective immediately;

- 2) Employed Aaron Hill, Special Education Teacher, WCHS;
- 3) Employed Timothy Walker, Math/Virtual Schools Teacher, WCHS
- 4) Employed Pauline McVey, Head Volleyball Coach, WCMS;
- 5) Employed Daniel Hickman, Head Football Coach, WCMS;
- 6) Employed Blair Bumgarner as substitute teacher;
- 7) Donna M. Steigleder, substitute teacher;
- 8) Approved a leave of absence for Sheila Hardbarger until released by her physician.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Mills, the Board authorized positions for mentor teachers for Science (2 positions), Math, Vocational Agriculture/Vocational Mechanics, and Special Education, at Wirt County High School.

On a motion by Mr. Ash, seconded by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved Catlin Sharp, Alan Riffle, Stephanie Sumner, Courtney Laine, Greg Richmond, Erin Cole, and Jared Young as staff for WCHS Band Camp.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved out of county student transfers for Stella Dunn, Lillian Greenleaf, Mahala Greenleaf, and Edward Sizemore to attend Wirt County Schools.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, August 9, 2011.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe, the meeting adjourned.

*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.