MINUTES OF THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in a regular session on Tuesday, July 22, 2014 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, President, Edward Powell, Vice President, Mark Lowe, Chuck Mills, and Johnny Nemeth, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary, Karen Cummings, Treasurer.

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Board member Johnny Nemeth.

The Board recognized Rebecca Falin's success in obtaining two grant awards for the Wirt County High School Science Department. Wirt County High School's local FFA chapter for their achievements at the State FFA convention and Deborah Hartshorn & George Priselac as the newest 212° club members.

Addressing the Board under Delegations was Karon Minor hearing issue/hiring/calendar policy.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Powell, the Board approved the minutes of the previous regular meeting held on June 30, 2014 and the special organizational meeting held on July 7, 2014.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Powell the Board authorized payment of invoices totaling \$105,823.58. On a motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Lowe the Board authorized payment of invoices before Board action under special circumstances.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Mills, the Board approved Policies J-07 Notification of Rights Under FERPA, J-01 Expected Behavior in Safe & Supportive Schools, J-05 Administration of Medication and B-02 School Board Effectiveness placed on a 30 day comment period. The Board made a motion to approve Policy A-03 School Calendar by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Powell after some discussion the motion was amended by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Powell, to place the policy back out on 30 day comment period. On a motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Nemeth, the Board placed Policy C-01 Educational Programs & Services on 30 day comment period.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Powell, the Board approved a leave of absence for Shaun Davis to begin approximately August 11, 2014. Under the same motion the Board accepted Eloise Jones retirement resignation, Teacher, WCMS, effective November 28, 2014 and Cheri Gray's resignation, Teacher, WCPC, effective August 5, 2014 under WV State Board Advisory Opinion Eminent Loss of Income.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Nemeth, the Board employed the following personnel:

- 1. Shawn Ferguson, Secretary II/Accountant II, WCHS, 220 day contract, 2014-15 school year
- 2. Elise Powell, Cook, Summer Sports Camp, ½ time position, August 4-8, 2014
- 3. Melanie Garrett, 3rd Grade Teacher, WCPC, 200 day contract, 2014-15 school year
- 4. Priscilla Hall, Science Teacher, WCMS, 200 day contract, 2014-15 school year

Mr. Powell, recused himself from the proceedings due to being related to one of the individuals.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe, the Board authorized a Kindergarten Aide, 2014-15 school year and two summer maintenance/custodians positions on as needed basis and gave

Superintendent Albin authority to hire those maintenance/custodians position before the next board meeting.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Nemeth the Board approved the following out of county transfers: Serenity Lowe, Avery Nolan, Austin Lowe, Lauren Lamp, Katy Field, Katie Cummings, Kari Cummings, Brandon Amos, Seth Kerby, Austin Wilson, Brant Freeland, Alexis Petrovsky, Alexander, Petrovsky, Sophia Steigleder, Layden Fordyce, Louden Fordyce, Lilly Fordyce, Shaylee Easton, Shay Linder, Elizabeth Perdue, Lynsie Perdue, Sierra Perdue, Peyton Dye, Brody Johns, Josie Johns, Reilly Hendershot, Lincoln Thorn, Payton McVey, Glenn McMillan, Lexie McMillan, Elijah McMillan, Natasha Kelbaugh, Julie Birney, Colton Bailey, Thomas Canterbury, Brianna Canterbury, Matthew Canterbury. Mr. Nemeth recused himself from the proceedings due to being related to one of the individuals.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, seconded by Mr. Powell, the Board approved the following Chaperones/Volunteers: Brenda Starcher, WCHS, Lottie Sheppard, WCHS, Roger Sheppard, WCHS, Becky Booth, WCPC, WCMS, WCHS, Tessa Mcatee, WCHS, Rachel Runion, WCMS, WCHS, Mellissa Holbert, WCMS, WCHS, Brian Holbert, WCMS, WCHS, Michael Shremshock, WCHS.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Nemeth, the Board meeting dates for 2015-16 were established as the second and fourth Tuesday of each month with the exception of November, which will be the first and third Tuesday and December which will be the third Tuesday only, the second meeting in April will coincide with the reconvened and special meeting established by State Code §18-9-2A, and the second meeting in June will be the last business day of the month.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be on August 12, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board member concerns the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Mills, seconded by Mr. Lowe.

*Unless otherwise noted all motions were approved by unanimous vote.

_____, President

_____, Secretary