MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, June 9, 2015 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, President, Edward Powell, Vice President, Chuck Mills, Mark Lowe, Johnny Nemeth, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary.

The meeting was called or order at 6:01 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Board Vice President, Mr. Edward Powell.

The Board recognized Highest Honor Graduates, Elizabeth Kathleen Adams, Valedictorian, and Gwynn Caroline Smith, Salutatorian. The Board also recognized retirees, Douglas Hill, Eloise Jones, Deloris Lipps, Karon Minor, Rebecca Watson, and Tammy Wilson.

The Superintendent's Update included: Awards Ceremony, End of School Schedule, Summer Maintenance Schedule, Building Plan Update, and Annual Desk Audit 2015.

Addressing the Board under Delegations was Karon Minor/4th grade position, WCPC.

The minutes of the previous meeting held on May 26, 2015 were approved as written.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board approved the payment of invoices totaling \$164,384.83, budget supplements totaling \$3,500.00, transfers totaling \$67,613.90 and \$3,000.00 to Future Business Leaders of America for the national conference to Chicago, Illinois.

On a motion by Mr. Nemeth, the Board placed policies C-03 Building & Grounds Safety, D-10 Incentive Compensation for all Staff, D-09 Personnel Actions & Payroll, D-08 Alternative Education and G-11 Bullying, Harassment & Intimidation on a 30 day comment period. Under the same motion the Board placed policy B-04 Public Records on a 20 day comment period.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board approved the employment of the following personnel: Melissa Emerson, Summer Administrator, WCPC, effective July 1, 2015 for 20 day during summer programs, Eloise Jones, Critical Skills ELA Teacher, WCMS, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, Maxx Myers, Critical Skills ELA & Math Teacher, WCHS, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, Danielle May, Teacher, ESY, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, Julie Oldfield, School librarian, WCHS, 2015-16 school year, Breanna Flinn, Second Grade Teacher, WCPC, 2015-16 school year, Shanel Watson, Third Grade Teacher, WCPC, 2015-16 school year, Chelsey Robinson, Critical Skills Math Teacher, WCMS, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, and substitute teachers for 2015-16 school year, Allison Archer, Kay Arnold, Carolyn Buchanan, Brooke Bumgarner, James Bunner, Linda Davies, Linda Demoss, Patricia Egbert, Melissa Fernatt, Kaitlyn Frame, J. Pat Fulmer, Dwight Goff, Kelly Goff, Michael Goodwin, Johnna Heiskell, Helen Hill, Jody Hill, Morgan Hoover, Eloise Jones, Virgil Lacey, Danielle May, Lacey Mills, Linda Moss, Maxx Myers, Karen Nicholson, Kimberlee Poling, Chelsey Robinson, Lois Robinson, Nancy Sampson, Athia Settle, Lynne Stone, Patsy Wells, Pamela Wendelken, Linda Williams, Adair Wilson, Michelle Wine. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board authorized a fourth grade teaching position, WCPC and hired Morgan Marlow, fourth grade teacher, 2015-16 school year. On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board employed the following substitute service personnel for the 2015-16 school year: Kim Adkins, Amanda Balis, Lesa Biles, Ray Bishop, Randall Buffington, John Bumgarner, Jodi Cheuvront, Tama Cross, Terry Davis, Tonda

JUNE 9, 2015 MINUTES 1

Dooley, Sheila Dye, Annette Ellison, Kevin Ellison, Brooke Galloway, Tamera Hagy, John Halstead, Jeannie Hartford, Vonda Jones, Whitney Lemley, Traci Lockhart, Cynthia Logan, Amanda Lucky, Deadra Lynch, Amy Mcfee, Margaret Moore, John Nicolais, Julie Perdue, Cindy Pettrey, Miranda Prusack, Tammy Robinson, Sierra Runner, Rebecca Sheppard, Mary Somerville, Kurt Starcher, Gary Watkins, Natalie Wigal, Tania Wine. Mr. Powell recused himself due to conflict of interest on an employment. On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board employed Jessica Powell, substitute service position, 2015-16 school year. When the proceeding concluded Mr. Powell, returned to the meeting. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board employed the following personnel: Gary Robinson, Bus Operator/Maintenance, ESY, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, Kathy Collins, Cook III, ESY, effective June 22 to July 31, 2015, and Amanda McCray, Custodian III, WCMS, 200 day contract, 2015-16 school year.

On a motion by Mr. Nemeth, the Board accepted the resignation of Helen Hill, Homebound Teacher, effective immediately and approved the reclassification of Kelly Roberts from temporary Supervisory Aide II/ECCAT to permanent Supervisory Aide II/ECCAT.

On a motion by Mr. Nemeth, the Board approved the following student/practicum teachers: Michelle Jones, Kelly Roberts, Cody Steward, Hannah Watkins, WVU-P, Ryan King, Western Governors University, and Michael Hicks, WVU. Approved under the same motions were Chaperones/Volunteers, Kurt Starcher, WCPC, WCMS, and Alicia Carper, WCHS.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board entered into executive session at 7:05 p.m. to review the Superintendent's Goals. The Board returned to regular session at 8:37 p.m. on a motion by Mr. Nemeth. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board concluded that the Superintendent had meet all of the reviewed goals.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be on June 30, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board member concerns the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Mills.

*Unless otherwise noted all mo	ions were annroved	hy unanimous vote

	, President
	, Secretary

JUNE 9, 2015 MINUTES 2