MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, April 14, 2015 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, President, Edward Powell, Vice President, Chuck Mills, Mark Lowe, Johnny Nemeth, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary.

Mr. Brainard called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Board member Mr. Johnny Nemeth.

The Board conducted the first of two public hearings for the 2015-2016 school calendar.

Addressing the Board under Delegations was Jeremy Metz/Public Records Policy/List Serve/Trip Policy/Authorization of Fourth Grade Position/Recognitions.

The minutes of the previous meeting held on March 24, 2015 was approved as written.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board authorized payment of invoices totaling \$137,255.11, budget supplements totaling \$23,768.00 and payment up to \$3,000 for DECA National Trip.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board approved emergency implementation of policy G-02 Critical Need Emergency Policy and also placed this same policy on a 30 day comment period. On the same motion the Board placed L-01 Police and Emergency Service Relations Policy on a 30 day comment period.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved trips for the WCHS Track Team to Belpre, Ohio, on April 29, 2015 and WCPC 4th grade to Columbus, Ohio, on June 5, 2015.

On a motion by Mr. Nemeth, the Board approved the employment of Jon Ferguson, Bus Operator, effective April 15, 2015. On a motion by Mr. Mills the Board approved the following Continuing & Probationary Contracts: Rebecca Chesser, Melanie Garrett, Priscilla Hall, Jamie Vannoy, Shelley Walker, Beth Bell, Sherry Burns, Cheryl Cogar, Phillip Hardbarger, Curtis Moore, Heather Myers, Eric Cheeseman, Robert Harvey, Jennifer McCallister, Jessica Theys, Sonah Smith, Melissa Emerson, Deborah Hartshorn, Manuel Lavalle, Marilou McClung, Anthony McIntyre, Jason Ward, William Brown, Tonja Carouthers, Tessa Cox, April Dawson, Sammantha Sloan, John Kerby, Barbara McCray, Joy Runner, Stacy Wager, William Cottrell, Shawn Ferguson, Megan Hutson, Yongju Bennett, Devonna Cottrell, Marion Mowery, Pamala Parsons, and Angela Smith.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board approved Thrasher Architects for the WCHS HVAC/Fire Alarm project.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved Out of County Transfer for two students from Roane County to Wirt County.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, April 21, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. The next public hearing for the 2015-2016 school calendar will coincide with the April 21, 2015 Board meeting. After hearing Board member concerns the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Nemeth.

April 14, 2015

*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimo	ous vote.
	, President
	, Secretary

April 14, 2015