MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, June 30, 2016 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Edward Powell, Vice President, Chuck Mills, Mark Lowe, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary. Absent Carl Brainard, President and Johnny Nemeth, member.

Mr. Powell called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Board member Chuck Mills.

The board approved the agenda with addendum with the exception of one substitute aide, Jessica Powell.

The Superintendent's Update included: SBA Updates, Superintendent's Policy Review Schedule, A Year in Review.

Addressing the Board during delegations: Daniel Metz/Job Postings/Policies.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe the Consent Agenda was approved by the Board: minutes of the previous regular meeting held June 16, 2016 and special meeting held June 27, 2016 as written; invoices totaling \$119,136.71, supplements totaling \$1,225,436.00, transfers totaling \$138,630.49; resignations: Megan Hutson, Sign Language Interpreter/specialist, effective June 30, 2016, Shawn Ferguson, Secretary, WCHS, effective July 22, 2016; employed the following personnel: David Hardbarger, Head Custodian IV, WCHS, effective July 29, 2016, Substitute Service Personnel: Amanda Balis, Vonda Jones, Tonda Dooley, Kim Adkins, Traci Lockhart, Lesa Biles, Amanda Lucky, Brooke Galloway, Tania Wine, Alisha Brannon, Mellissa Holbert, Jane Williams, Linda Batten, Jamie Kerby, Deadra Lynch, Sheila Dye, John Halstead, Rebecca Sheppard, Sierra Runner, Kurt Starcher, Steve Lockhart, Daniel Good, Amber Long, Ellen Butcher, Julie Perdue, Jeannie Hartford, Margaret Moore, John Nicholais, Phil Bumgarner, Randall Buffington, Dean Thorn, Josh Moss, Doug Pethtel; Isac Osborne, Alternative Education Teacher, WCMS/WCPC, effective 2016-2017 school year, Kary Lemley, Business Education, WCMS/WCHS, (Itinerant), effective 2016-2017 school year, Substitute Professional Personnel: Allen Arnold, Kay Arnold, Carolyn Buchanan, Linda Davies, Linda Demoss, Patricia Egbert, Paul Elkins, Kelly Flanagan, Pat Fulmer, Michael Goodwin, Helen Hill, Milton Husted, Eloise Jones, Virgil Lacey, Karon Minor, Karen Nicholson, Jessica Pauley, Kim Poling, Lois Robinson, Cody Stewart, Steven Sturm, Andrew Thomas, Samantha Villers, Rebecca Watson, Patsy Wells, Pamela Wendelken, Linda Williams, DA Wilson, Tammy Wilson, Jody Hill; policies rescinded GCR-RA Drug Free Workplace, GAC Policies & Rules Development, GBA-R Compensation Guides & Contracts, Policy G-14 Leave & Absence Policy, approved; Out of County Transfer Requests: Three students from Calhoun County to Wirt County.

The next meeting, which will be an organizational board meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will held on July 5, 2016 at 6:00 pm in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board member concerns, the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Mills.

JUNE 30, 2016 MINUTES



*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.

_____, President

_____, Secretary



JUNE 30, 2016 MINUTES