MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, November 17, 2015 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, President, Edward Powell, Vice President, Chuck Mills, Mark Lowe, Johnny Nemeth, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary.

Mr. Brainard asked for a moment of silence for the individuals killed and injured in the Paris terrorist attack. Mr. Brainard called the meeting to order at 6:02 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Senior Volleyball Players, Allie Bailey and Katie Tichnell.

The Board recognized the newest 212° Club members, Stephanie Martin, Shawn Ferguson, and October recipient, Ronni Nemeth. The Board also recognized the Wirt County High School Volleyball team for winning the state volleyball championship.

The Superintendent's Update included: SBA Report, LSIC Schedule, Technology Meeting, Attendance Report, and Board Goals.

The minutes of the previous meeting held on November 3, 2015 were approved as written.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board approved invoices totaling \$154,438.32, budget supplements totaling (\$37,672.00), and transfers totaling \$57,840.73.

On a motion by Mr. Nemeth, the Board accepted the resignations for Ben Moore, 9th Grade Basketball Coach, WCHS, effective immediately and Deborah Hartshorn, Teacher, WCHS, effective January 4, 2016. On the same motion the Board approved the employment of the following personnel: Rebecca McKown, Home/Hospital Instruction Teacher, effective immediately, Paul Elkins, Substitute Teacher, Michelle Jones, Substitute Teacher, pending certification, Hannah Watkins, Substitute Teacher, pending certification, Todd Moore, Assistant Varsity Wrestling Coach, WCHS, effective immediately, Chase Mills, 9th Grade boys Basketball Coach, WCHS, effective immediately, Carrie Nichols, Alisha Brannon, Christinia Sponaugle, G. Jane Williams, Lesa Biles, Jaime Kerby, Amber Long, Mellissa Holbert, Linda Batten, Substitute Cooks, pending clearance of fingerprinting. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board accepted the resignations for Mary Somervillle, Cook, WCPC/WCMS, effective November 16, 2015 and Luann Ayers, Teacher, WCPC/WCMS, effective November 30, 2015.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board placed G-14 Leave Policy on a fifty day comment period.

On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board approved the following Volunteer/Chaperones: Michael Hughes, WCHS, Coleen Bumgarner, WCPC, Matt Dye, WCHS, Tanua Goff, WCPC, Crystal Hardbarger, WCPC, Todd Moore, WCHS, Floyd Cline, WCHS, Chase Mills, WCHS, Jarred Watson, WCHS, Debbie Evans, WCHS. Mr. Powell, recused himself due to conflict of interest, on a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved Herbert Toney, WCMS, WCHS, as a Volunteer/Chaperone. When the proceeding concluded Mr. Powell returned to the meeting.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on December 15, 2015 at 6:00 pm in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board member concerns the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Mills.



| *Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous | s vote. |
|---|-------------|
| - | , President |
| - | |