## MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, April 12, 2016 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, President, Edward Powell, Vice President, Chuck Mills, Mark Lowe, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary. Absent Johnny Nemeth.

Mr. Brainard called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Logan Powell.

The Board recognized Hayden Curfman, Second Place Winner, Grade 3-4, West Virginia Young Writers Contest. Perfect Scores 5<sup>th</sup> Grade-ELA, Jordan Hickman, 2701, 6<sup>th</sup> Grade-ELA, Sean Joy, Megan Shearlock, Emily Young, 2724, 7<sup>th</sup> Grade-ELA, Emma Axley, Adeline Sims, 2745, Math, Austin Dille, Nathan Murray, Logan Powell, 2778. Also recognized was Wirt County High School Seniors Matt Toney, US Army, & Seth Kerby, United States Military Academy, West Point.

The Superintendent's Update included: West Virginia Service Employee of the Year Program, West Virginia Teacher of the Year, and Gary Ash and Doug Pethtel bus drivers who have completed all necessary training.

The minutes of the previous regular meeting held on March 29, 2016 were approved as written.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board approved invoices totaling \$134,910.97 and budget supplements totaling \$9,848.50. On a motion by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved the Wirt County Board of Education, Annual Financial Audit Report, ending June 30, 2015 and the Wirt County Board of Education, Individual School Audit Report, ending June 30, 2015.

On a motion by Mr. Powell, the Board approved the following resignations: Bernard R. Bishop, Bus Operator, effective March 24, 2016, Melissa Maidens, Homebound Teacher, effective immediately, and Hans Rinehart, Retirement Resignation, Effective June 30, 2016. On the same motion the Board employed Gayle Hickman, Volleyball Head Coach, WCMS, effective 2016-2017 school year, Robert Parsons, Football Head Coach, WCMS, effective 2016-2017 school year, Andrew Kirk, Drumline Instructor for Spring Rehearsals, May 16-24, 2016, Summer Rehearsals, May 25-July 22, 2016, and Band Camp, July 24-28, 2016. Aaron Statler, Judge & Instructor for Drumline Placements, May 24, 2016, Jesslyn McLain, Substitute Teacher, effective immediately, Andrew Thomas, Substitute Teacher, effective immediately, Kelly Flanagan, Substitute Teacher, effective immediately. On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board approved the following 2016-2017 Continuing & Probationary Contracts: Eric Cheeseman, Robert Harvey, Jennifer McCallister, Jessica Theys, Sonah Smith, John Kerby, Barbara McCray, Stacy Wager, Manuel Lavalle, Anthony McIntrye, William Brown, Tonja Carouthers, Tessa Cox, April Dawson, Breanna Flinn, Megan Jones, Melissa Maidens, Julie Oldfield, Chelsey Robinson, Sammantha Sloan, Samantha Turner, Shanel Weaver, Zachary McCallister, David Tupper, William Cottrell, Shawn Ferguson, Megan Hutson, Yongju Bennett, Devonna Cottrell, Amanda McCray, Marion Mowery, Pamala Parsons, Angela Smith, Gary Watkins, Terry Davis, Amy McFee.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved the reclassification of Tina Beckner and Mary Amos, Supervisory Aide II/ECCAT from temporary authorization to permanent authorization.

APRIL 12, 2016 MINUTES



On a motion by Mr. Mills, the Board authorized G-15 Sick Leave Bank Policy and K-01 Parental Involvement Policy placed on a 30 day comment period.

The next meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will held on April 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board member concerns, the meeting adjourned on a motion by Mr. Mills.

\*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.

\_\_\_\_\_, President

\_\_\_\_\_, Secretary

