## MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Wirt County Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, June 27, 2019 in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. Present were Carl Brainard, Vice President, Mark Lowe, Robert Deuley, Randa Yoak, members, MaryJane Pope Albin, Secretary. Absent: Dan Metz, President.

Mr. Brainard called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Board Member, Robert Deuley.

The Board recognized Sister Molly Bauer, Executive Director, Sisters Health Foundation for all the help and support given to Wirt County Schools' Whole Child Health Project.

On a motion by Mr. Deuley, the Board approved the agenda as amended by unanimous consent.

The Superintendent's Update included the following: SBA Project Updates, Summary of House and Senate Bills, End of Year Reports and discussion with board about Model Schools Conference.

On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the minutes of the previous regular meeting, June 11, 2019, and the June 18, 2019 special meeting minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved invoices totaling \$248,146.48. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved a change order for Grae Con totaling \$2,342.36. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved a Workers Compensation Renewal with Travelers.

On a motion by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved the following Band Camp Workers, Nikki English, Kayla Bain, Kurtis Richards, Jon Reid, Ethan Gillespie, effective July 22-26, 2019. On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board employed the following personnel: Brenda Metz, Substitute Teacher, effective 2019-20 school year, Robin Hardbarger, Handyperson(temporary), effective immediately, Kelly Flanagan, Second Grade Teacher, WCPC, effective 2019-20 school year, Tonda Dooley, Cook III, WCPC/WCMS, effective 2019-20 school year, Levi Maxwell, Golf Coach, WCHS, effective 2019-20 school year. On a motion by Mr. Deuley, the Board added Jamie Kerby to the probationary contracts list for the 2019-20 school year. On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved the Substitute Professional Personnel, effective 2019-20 school year; Arthur, Jessica, Burton, Sarah, Cottrell, Morgan, Davies, Linda, Demoss Linda, Dotson, Elizabeth, Egbert, Patricia, Fulmer, J. Pat, Goff, April, Goff, Dwight, Goodwin, Michael, Hill, Helen, Keener, Vickie, Lynch, Jessica, McCloy, Mary Beth, Mayhew-Shears, Michelle, Morrison, Patricia, Offutt, Karen, Prusack, Miranda, Robinson, Lois, Tichnell, Natasha, Watson, Rebecca, Wendelken, Pamela, Wilson, Adair, Wilson, Tammy, Wright, Morgan, on the same motion the Board approved Substitute Service Personnel, effective 2019-20 school year; Balis, Amanda, Batten, Linda, Boyce, Joyce, Buffington, Randall, Bumgarner, Phillip, Davis, Terry, Dotson, William, Dye, Katlyn, Dye, Sheila, Hardbarger, David, Hardbarger, Robin, Hatifeld, Stephanie, Jones, Vonda, Long, Wesley, Lucky, Amanda, Moore, Beth, Murray, Shawn, Parsons, Sara, Perdue, Sandra, Pitts, Robert, Powell, Jessica, Prusack, Miranda, Robinson, Gary, Sams, Paula, Shears, Yvonne, Smith, Edsel, Wine, Tania.



On our way to graduation day!

## MINUTES FOR THE WIRT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved Out of County Transfers for the 2019-20 school year: Four students from Ritchie County to Wirt County.

On a motion by Mr. Lowe, the Board approved Volunteer/Chaperones Tanua Goff, WCPC, Erica Whipkey, WCMS, WCHS for the 2019-20 school year. Due to personal interest Mrs. Yoak recused herself from the proceedings. On a motion by Mr. Brainard, the Board approved Volunteer/Chaperone Mary Mullenax, WCPC, WCHS, for the 2019-20 school year. When the proceedings concluded Mrs. Yoak returned to the meeting.

On a motion by Mrs. Yoak, the Board approved to continue the contract for the Shared Special Education Specialist .

The next regular meeting of the Wirt County Board of Education will be held on July 9, 2019 at 6:00 pm in the Wirt County High School cafeteria. After hearing Board concerns the meeting adjourned at 7:01 on a motion by Mr. Lowe.

\*Unless otherwise noted, all motions were approved by unanimous vote.

 , Presiden
 , Secretary

JUNE 27, 2019 MINUTES 2