

Umonhon Nation Public School

470 Main Street P.O. Box 280 Macy, NE 68039 Office 402-837-5622 Fax 402-837-5245

"Strengthening Native traditions...learning to flourish in other cultures"

"Motivate, Move, Mold, and Make your Mark"

Stacie Hardy, Superintendent Dr. V. Eugene Hamman, Intervention Specialist Jon Pickinpaugh, High School Principal Joseph Schmidt, Middle School Principal Joseph Wanning, Elementary School Principal

Regular Board of Education Meeting Wednesday, January 9th, 2019 at 12:00 p.m. Approved Minutes-Monday, February 18th, 2019

I. Call to Order by

Time: 12:01 p.m.

President Darren Wolfe called the meeting to order.

II. Roll Call

Present: Darren Wolfe, Orville Cayou, Carroll Webster, Sr., Bertram Walker, and Mary T. Webster

Sarah Rowland arrived at 12:04 p.m.

III. Identification of Open Meeting Act (South Wall in the Distance Learning Lab)

President Darren Wolfe stated that the Open Meeting Act is located on the South wall in the Distance Learning Lab.

IV. Oath of Office of Newly Elected School Board Members

Newly elected member Orville Cayou signed his Oath of Office and read it out loud. Newly elected members Carroll Webster, and Mary T. Webster signed there Oath of Office and waived the reading.

V. Election of Officers

- a. President
- b. Vice-President
- c. Treasurer
- d. Secretary

President Darren Wolfe asked the School Board Members for nomination for Umoⁿhoⁿ Nation Public School Board President.

Orville Cayou nominated Darren Wolfe for School Board President.

There were no more nominations for President. Carroll Webster, Sr. ceased nominations.

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster, and Walker

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion Carried 5-1 abstained

Bert Walker nominated Sarah Rowland for School Board Vice President.

Sarah Rowland nominated Orville Cayou for School Board Vice President.

There were no more nominations for Vice-President. Orville Cayou ceased nominations.

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster and Walker

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion carried: 5-1 abstained.

Carroll Webster, Sr. nominated Sarah Rowland for School Board Treasurer.

There were no more nominations for Treasurer. Orville Cayou ceased nominations.

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster and Walker

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion carried: 5-1 abstained.

Orville Cayou nominated Carroll Webster, Sr. for School Board Secretary.

There were no more nominations for Secretary. Bert Walker ceased nominations.

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster and Walker

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion carried: 5-1 abstained.

President- Darren Wolfe

Vice-President-Orville Cayou

Treasurer- Sarah Rowland

Secretary- Carroll Webster, Sr.

Members- Mary T. Webster

Bertram Walker

VI. Reorganization of Board of Education Committees

- a. Patron Advisory Committee
- b. Monthly Financial Review Committee

President Darren Wolfe asked the Board of Education Members if anyone would be interested in serving on the following committees:

- a. Patron Advisory Committee
 - 1. Darren Wolfe
 - 2. Bertram Walker
- b. Reviewing of monthly Financial Reports and Bills
 - 1. Darren Wolfe
 - 2. Orville Cayou

VII. Approval of Agenda for January 9th, 2019 Regular Board of Education Meeting.

A motion was made to approve the January 9th, 2019 Regular Board of Education Meeting. 1st by Orville Cayou and 2nd by Sarah Rowland

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C. Webster, and Walker

NO: None

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion carried: 5-1 abstained

VIII. Approval of the Regular Board of Education Meeting Minutes on December 17th, 2018.

A motion was made to approve the Regular Board of Education Meeting Minutes on December 17th, 2018.

1st by Sarah Rowland and 2nd by Orville Cayou

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C. Webster, and Walker

NO: None

Abstained: M. Webster Motion carried: 5-1 abstained

IX. Approval of Financial Report for December 2018 and Bills for January 2019.

A motion was made to approve the Financial Report for December 2018 and Bills for January 2019.

1st by Orville Cayou and 2nd by Bertram Walker

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C. Webster, and Walker

NO: None

Abstained: M. Webster Motion carried: 5-1 abstained

X. Reports

a. Superintendent (Ms. Hardy)

b. Elementary Principal (Mr. Wanning)

- c. Middle School Principal (Mr. Schmidt)
- **d.** High School Principal (Mr. Pickinpaugh)
- e. Shinga Zhinga (Mrs. Sateren)
- **f.** Culture (Ms. Stabler)

XI. Old Business

No Old Business

XII. Items of Discussion

No Item of Discussion

President Darren Wolfe asked for a motion to go in to Executive session due to personnel discussion regarding Administrative Contracts.

A motion was made to go into Executive Session at 12:48 p.m.

1st by Carroll Webster, Sr. and 2nd by Sarah Rowland

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster, and Walker

NO: None

Abstained: M. Webster

Motion carried: 5-1 abstained

A motion was to come out of Executive Session at 1:49 p.m.

1st by Sarah Rowland, and Orville Cayou

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C.Webster, Walker, and M. Webster

NO: None

Motion carried: 6-0

XIII. New Business

- a. Discuss, consider and take the necessary actions to approve the following 2018-2019 Administrative Contracts:
 - i. Eugene Hamman (Interventionist Specialist)
 - ii. Joseph Wanning (Elementary Principal)
 - iii. Joseph Schmidt (Middle School Principal)
 - iv. Jon Pickinpaugh (High School Principal)
 - v. Katie Renfro (Assistant Elementary Principal)
 - vi. Tiffany Fada (Secondary Dean of Students)

A motion was made to approve the following 2018-2019 Administrative Contracts for the following:

Eugene Hamman (Interventionist Specialist)

Joseph Wanning (Elementary Principal)

Joseph Schmidt (Middle School Principal0

Jon Pickinpaugh (High School Principal)

Katie Renfro (Assistant Elem. Principal)

Tiffany Fada (Secondary Dean of Students)

1st by Sarah Rowland and 2nd by Orville Cayou

YES: Wolfe, Cayou, Rowland, C. Webster and M. Webster

NO: None

Motion carried: 5-1 absent

XIV. NEXT MEETING DATE AND TIME: Monday, February 11th, 2019 @ 5:00 p.m.

XV. Adjournment TIME: 1:56 p.m.