## REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 12, 2016

The Eastland Independent School District Board of Trustees met in regular session on Thursday, May 12, 2016, at 12:00 noon, in the conference room of the administration building.

Members present: Jim Moylan, Jr., David Hullum, Donald Cate, Tabitha Jordan,

Brent Kirkland, Billy Bob Orsagh, Kalli Stacy

Members absent: None

Others present: Jason Cochran, Jeremy Williams, Steve Valkenaar, Jason Henry, Mary Jones,

Shelley Rinehart, Sug Roller, Sandy Lyerla, Nikki Galbreath, Amber

Daskevich, Phillip Arther, Jackie M. Juarez, Jason Walston and parents of

students

Agenda Item #1: Call Meeting to Order

Jim Moylan, Jr., president, called the meeting to order at 12:00 noon.

Agenda Item #2: Closed Session

At 12:01 p.m., Jim Moylan, Jr., president, called for executive session in accordance with the Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551-Subchapter D & E, of the Texas Education Code to discuss personnel. The meeting was declared open again at 12:36 p.m.

Agenda Item #3: Open Forum

Jackie M. Juarez addressed the board regarding concerns about the Raptor System being used at Siebert Elementary for visitor identification when they enter the school building.

Agenda Item #4: Consent Items

A motion was made by David Hullum, seconded by Kalli Stacy, and carried by unanimous vote, to approve the minutes of the April 11, 2016 Regular Board Meeting and payment of bills.

Agenda Item #5: Employee of the Month

An Employee of the Month plaque was presented to Nikki Galbreath, elementary teacher, and Amber Daskevich, middle school support staff.

Agenda Item #6: Students of the Month

A Student of the Month plaque was presented to Elizabeth Daskevich and Trenton West, middle school students, and high school students DeEllen Davis, Rosalinda Mares, Steven Heinzman and Deric Stacy.

Agenda Item #7: Presentation of Valedictorian and Salutatorian

Steve Valkenaar, high school principal, introduced Colt Stephens, Valedictorian of the 2016 Eastland High School graduating class, and Weston Brooks, Salutatorian of the 2016 Eastland High School graduating class.

Agenda Item #8: School Board Re-organization

President Jim Moylan, Jr. called for nominations for President. Jim Moylan, Jr. was nominated for President and nominations ceased. Mr. Moylan was elected by acclamation.

President Jim Moylan, Jr. called for nominations for Vice-President. David Hullum was nominated for Vice-President and nominations ceased. Mr. Hullum was elected by acclamation.

President Jim Moylan, Jr. called for nominations for Secretary. Kalli Stacy was nominated for Secretary and nominations ceased. Mrs. Stacy was elected by acclamation.

Agenda Item #9: Approve property tax sale

A motion was made by Donald Cate, seconded by Tabitha Jordan, and carried by unanimous vote, to approve a Deed Without Warranty for property sold to Dennis Wicks for \$350.00.

Agenda Item #10: Overview of the new TEA teacher evaluation system

Principals Steven Valkenaar, Jason Henry and Mary Jones presented information on the new TEA teacher evaluation system.

Agenda Item #11: Superintendent's Report

Supt. Jason Cochran reported enrollment to be 1,109 and discussed the end of year activities. Mr. Cochran reminded the board of the Community Planning Meeting on May 19, 2016 at 7:30 p.m. in the high school auditorium.

## Agenda Item #12: Personnel

A motion was made by Brent Kirkland, seconded by Billy Bob Orsagh, and carried by unanimous vote, to ratify and accept letters of resignation from Steven Valkenaar, principal, Britini Valkenaar, Cortnie Hatton, teachers, and Sug Roller, business manager.

A motion was made by David Hullum, seconded by Donald Cate, and carried by unanimous vote, to accept the recommendation of Supt. Cochran and principals to hire the following: Elizabeth Smith, Bobby Smith, Jessica Forbus and Kelsey Cobb, teachers.

Agenda Item #13: Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m. with a motion and unanimous vote.	on by David Hullum, second by Tabitha Jordan,
ATTEST:	
President	Secretary