Greene County Community School District Special Meeting April 27, 2022

The Greene County Community School District Board of Directors met in special session on April 27, 2022 in the District Board Room, located in the Middle School. President Steve Fisher called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Directors Cindi Daubendiek, John McConnell and Bonnie Silbaugh; Superintendent Tim Christensen and Board Secretary Brenda Muir were all present; Director Michelle Fields arrived later in the meeting.

Silbaugh made and McConnell seconded a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

Daubendiek made and McConnell seconded a motion to approve the hiring of Heather Vander Wilt as the Middle School Art Teacher, placed appropriately on the salary schedule and to hire David Wright as Activities Director at \$85,000 with administrator benefits for a 260 day contract. Motion carried 4-0.

Board Policies 208.2-209.4 were reviewed. Revisions were recommended to Policies 208.11-Public Participation in Board Meetings and 208.11A-General Concerns by Citizens to clear up any confusion about the processes. Motion was made by Daubendiek seconded by Silbaugh to approve the review of the policies presented and the revisions to BP 208.11 and BP 208.11A as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

At 4:08 p.m. Daubendiek made and McConnell seconded a motion to go into closed session as allowed in Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(i) — "To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." Motion carried 4-0.

Director Fields arrived just as the board was moving into Closed Session.

The board returned to open session at 5:33 p.m.

Per Board Policy 605.3D - Reconsideration of Instructional Materials Regulation, a committee is to be designated annually. The Board is to appoint three community members. Superintendent Christensen named the persons he had designated: Licensed Employee Julie Neal, Media Specialist Jenny Fisher, and Administrator Scott Johnson. Principal Brian Phillips selected High School Students Natalie Heupel and Hallie Monthei. Community members Jan Scharingson, Tracy Deal and Matt Wetrich had also had been asked to serve. Fields made and Daubendiek seconded a motion to officially appoint Scharingson, Deal and Weitrich to the committee. Motion carried 5-0.

President Fisher declared the meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.		
President	Sec	cretary