SUBCOMMITTEES

In regards to the vote for subcommittee positions -

GDRSD SC has a policy, BDA in which "The chair is responsible for recommending sub-committee membership to the full committee, and the vote on those sub-committees is indicated to take place at the next regular meeting <u>following</u> the organizational meeting. The chair can, of course, allow committee members to request certain sub-committees they wish to serve on, and the committee may amend the chair's recommendations, <u>but the vote shouldn't take place during the</u> organizational meeting.

I offer my apology for the misstep and acknowledgement that Brian was correct in his objection based on our current policy.

I would like to note that in reading the policy and reviewing GDRSD policy against current MASC guidance relative to BDA (Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary Appointments) and BDE (Sub Committee appointments) it may be beneficial for the policy committee to review the previously mentioned policies to ensure the desire of the committee as voiced at the last meeting (to include the entirety of the committee in decisions relative to annual subcommittee appointments) and the timing of those appointments is represented in current district policies.

Additionally, it appears that CIAA is not included in the list of subcommittees and the appointment of Liason positions are not indicated in GDRSD policies which is also something that policy should consider to be included in their yearly work. To note, subcommittee chairs are traditionally chosen by the subcommittee members at the first meeting of the subcommittee. This also is not identified in policy and should be considered when reviewing policy.

To that end and to meet the requirements of current district policy BDE and to rectify the previous meeting misstep, I would entertain a motion to appoint the following individuals to following subcommittees:

SUBCOMMITTEES

B&F Subcommittee

Rafael Glod Brian LeBlanc Lacey McCabe

CIAA Subcommittee

Rosanna Casavecchia Lacey McCabe Fay Raynor

Policy Subcommittee Catherine Awa Yasmeen Cheema Lacey McCabe

Florence Building Committee Fay Raynor

LIASONS

Lastly, and given there is no currently policy to instruct how liason positions are appointed, nor in what duration i.e. annually or every two years, I would entertain a vote to approve the list of liason appointments included in your packet which includes the following appointments for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Groton Select Board and Finance Committee

Brian LeBlanc Fay Raynor

Dunstable BOS Rafael Glod

Dunstable Advisory Board Lacey McCabe

Culture and Climate (Rosanna to Fill Marlena's Position that wasn't filled) Lacey McCabe Rosanna Cassavecchia

TriComm Brian LeBlanc Fay Raynor Rosanna Cassavecchia (to take the place of M. Gilbert whose vacancy was never filled)

Dunstable BoH Lacey McCabe

Groton BoH Brian LeBlanc

GDEF Yasmeen Cheema

SEPAC Yasmeen Cheema

Legislative Representative Rafael Glod

COA Dunstable Rafael Glod

COA Groton Brian LeBlanc

Behavioral Task Force Rosanna Cassavecchia (to take the place of M. Gilbert whose vacancy was never filled) Lacey McCabe

PTA/PTO Lacey McCabe SU, Yasmeen Cheema, MS, Catherine Awa FloRo/Boutwell

DEI

Moving on to the DEI Advisory appointments and per the approved GDRSD charter, DEI Community Advisory Committee appointments are to be renewed annually. The current policy states - The DEI CAC shall consist of at least eight (8) but no more than twelve (12) community members appointed by the GDRSC and shall serve for one (1) year. Members may request reappointment by the GDRSC by March 1 of each year, prior to the completion of their term.

Additionally, the School Committee will appoint at least one (1) of its members to the DEI CAC Committee. Their role will be to assist the Advisory in their work, coordinate resources, and provide updates from the Advisory to the school committee and district administration.

It might be beneficial to revise the charter so that the DEI CAC reappointments coincide with the SC annual reorganization efforts and I would encourage the policy committee to add this policy to their yearly review.

I would entertain a motion to reappoint the following SC members, those individuals who provided their request for reappointments and those that are new and asking for consideration to participate.

SC Annual Appointments

Rafi Glod Catherine Awa

Community Interest Appointments

Brian DiGiovanni

Rebecca Tabasky

Rebecca Thackaberry

Samantha O'Brien

Meghan Smith

Ann Hee Foley

Rohit Bhasin

Sara Smits Keeney

Petronella Guttromson