MINUTES OF A SPECIAL JOINT MEETING (#1) OF THE BOARDS OF EDUCATION

OF EL

DWIGHT COMMON SCHOOL DISTRICT #232 AND DWIGHT TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT #230

Held in the Dwight Common School District Library

On May 3, 2017 at 6:00 p.m.

Board President Marc Ellis called the GS portion of the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Marc Ellis; Kim Frauli; Bo Partney; Joel Funk (6:03 p.m.); Nick Stipanovich; Cathy Ferguson; Steve Tock

ABSENT: None

Board President Brian Perschnick called the HS portion of the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Brian Perschnick; Kim Rodosky; Tim Henson; Jennifer Myzia; Kevin Berta; Paul Warner; Kathy Perry

ABSENT: None

Also in attendance: Dr. Richard Jancek, Superintendent; Deb Conroy, Secretary

PUBLIC COMMENT

Outgoing HS Board member Kathy Perry offered congratulations to all returning and incoming Board members.

NEW BUSINESS

Dr. Jancek relayed the official results of the April 4, 2017 election to the Boards. Those who won seats in the election were:

Grade School (all 4-year seats)

Bo Partney—708 votes

Nick Stipanovich—634 votes

High School (2-year seat)

Paul Warner—783 votes

High School (4-year seats)

Brian Perschnick—854 votes

Tim Henson—836 votes

Jennifer Myzia—640 votes

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Frauli, for the GS to approve the official election results from April 4, 2017, as presented. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried

Moved by Perry, seconded by Warner, for the HS to approve the official election results from April 4, 2017, as presented. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

With the official results approved, there were open seats left on each Board (1 at the HS and 2 at the GS).

Dr. Jancek presented as candidates for appointment:

Eugene Mortensen—GS Board

Michael Cornale—GS Board

Betty Gantzert—HS Board

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Frauli, for the GS to approve the appointment of Eugene Mortensen as a member of the Dwight Common School District #232 Board of Education for a 2-year unexpired term. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Partney, seconded by Frauli, for the GS to approve the appointment of Michael Cornale as a member of the Dwight Common School District #232 Board of Education for a 2-year unexpired term. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Perry, seconded by Henson, for the HS to approve the appointment of Betty Gantzert as a member of the Dwight Township High School District #230 Board of Education for a 2-year unexpired term. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

GS Board President Marc Ellis asked for nominations for a President Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Partney nominated Dr. Jancek.

Moved by Partney, seconded by Ferguson, for the GS to appoint Dr. Jancek as President Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

HS Board President Brian Perschnick asked for nominations for a President Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Perry nominated Dr. Jancek.

Moved by Perry, seconded by Rodosky, for the HS to appoint Dr. Jancek as President Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

GS Board President Marc Ellis asked for nominations for a Secretary Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Ferguson nominated Debbie Conroy.

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Frauli, for the GS to appoint Debbie Conroy as Secretary Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

HS Board President Brian Perschnick asked for nominations for a Secretary Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Perschnick nominated Debbie Conroy.

Moved by Perschnick, seconded by Myzia, for the GS to appoint Debbie Conroy as Secretary Pro-tem to reorganize the new Board. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Stipanovich, to adjourn the GS portion of the meeting (sine die) at 6:03 p.m. Roll call. Funk voted "present". All others voted aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Perschnick, seconded by Rodosky, to adjourn the HS portion of the meeting (sine die) at 6:06 p.m. Roll call. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Debbie Conroy, Secretary Pro-tem, Dist #230 & #232

Dr. Richard Jancek, President Pro-tem, Dist #230 & #232