Special Junior Awards 2023

Each year several colleges and universities offer scholarship opportunities to current juniors. These scholarships are presented to students who meet specific criteria set by each individual school. In order to take advantage of the scholarship opportunity, the student must apply, be accepted and enroll in that school.

Early in the winter students are given the opportunity to have their names submitted to these schools through the Guidance Office. Information is given in the newsletter and Guidance website with specific details on how to apply. Winners are selected by the schools based on nominations sent to them from the Guidance Office.

Here are the winners of this year's Special Junior Awards:

2023 Student Sage Award from Russel Sage College – Julia Lange

The award was created to recognize the characteristics of academic excellence and community involvement that have defined Sage students for over a century. Congratulations Julia!

The George Eastman Young Leaders Award from The University of Rochester – Grace VanAuken

In recognition of outstanding academic achievement and leadership. Congratulations Grace!

The Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award from The University of Rochester – Hawon Kook

In recognition of outstanding achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science. Congratulations Hawon!

The Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award from The University of Rochester – Joseph Maraski

In recognition of outstanding commitment to social justice and dedication to continuing their unfinished life's work. Congratulations Joseph!

The Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology from The University of Rochester – Jaidyn Pufky

In recognition of outstanding achievement in the pursuit of innovative approaches and an appreciation for the possibilities of technology. Congratulations Jaidyn!

The George H Ball Community Achievement Awards from Keuka College -

Keuka College awards multiple students for this honor. The Ball Award rewards students based on qualities that embody the values of Keuka College, including integrity, academic excellence, diversity, leadership, service, and social responsibility.

So congratulations first to Alyssa Kizis......(clap clap clap) Adrianna Lang.....(clap clap clap) Kazmira Maney....(clap clap clap) Ava Masucci....(clap, clap, clap) Kathryn Napierala(clap, clap, clap)

The Le Moyne College Heights Award – Julia Lange

This award recognizes students who are reaching for the "heights" in the classroom and in service to their school and community. Congratulations Julia!

The Clarkson University High School Leadership Award

In recognition of students who demonstrate leadership and outstanding academic achievement.

So congratulations first to Eli Weyer ...(clap, clap, clap) And Madison Cartie (clap, clap, clap)

The Bonnie Scholarship Award from ST Bonaventure University

This award recognizes students on their academic achievement and service to the school and community.

Congratulations first to Giovanna Battaglini (clap, clap, clap) And Lauren Dundon ... (clap, clap, clap)

The Colonel Emerging Leader Award from Wilkes University

In recognition of outstanding achievements in academics and extracurricular activities. **Congratulations first to Maya Hayden** ...(clap, clap, clap)

Daniel Morales(clap, clap, clap)

Tannor Walker(clap, clap, clap)

The 21st Century Leadership Award from Wells College

In recognition of outstanding contributions as a student and leader. Congratulations first to Annastazia Alfarano....(clap, clap, clap) And Celina Chanthasone...(clap, clap, clap)

Rensselaer Medal Award from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute – Katherine Martin

For outstanding academic achievement in the study of mathematics and science. Congratulations Katherine.

Rochester Institute of Technology -

In recognition of their leadership, service and achievements..... The Art and Design Award – Lucas Bernhauer (clap, clap) The Computing Award – Kaylee Fiedler... (clap, clap) The Humanities and Social Sciences Award – Emily Janik...(clap, clap) The Science and Math Award – Chase Piester... (clap, clap) The Business and Leadership Award – Dylan Piester... (clap, clap) The Women in STEM Award – Haley Piester... (clap, clap)