# MERIDIAN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 15 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

### January 18, 2022

The Meridian Community Unit School District No. 15 Board of Education held a regular meeting on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, in the Board Room, Macon Campus. President Monte Hogan called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The following Members were in attendance: Monte Hogan, Clint Gorden, Rebecca Kraft, Kara Morey. Members Roush and Herbert were absent. Member Jones entered at 6:36 p.m. Also in attendance were: Andy Pygott, Superintendent; Mindy McGuire, Middle School Principal; and Michelle Miller, Recording Secretary.

## Meridian Elementary January Students of the Month:

Kindergarten- Fallon Hamilton, Bryker Woods, Brinley Woods

1<sup>st</sup> Grade- Jaxon Horcharik, Finnlee Babb, Elysa Grimm, Lily Sauer

2<sup>nd</sup> Grade- Anna Flemming, Gryphon Dudley, Liam Stewart, Molly Kraft

3<sup>rd</sup> Grade- Aiden Marion, Ashlyn Koehler, Behr Tippit, Alexis Webster

4<sup>th</sup> Grade- Caitlin Burgess, Jaylee Hadden, Aiden Amenda

5<sup>th</sup> Grade- Pacyn Hatfield, Maggie Smithers, RaeLynn Selby

# Meridian High School 1st Semester Board Scholars:

9<sup>th</sup> Grade- Brooks Brown, Emma Childers, Abigail Clark, Colton Denny, Sean Hill, Raegan Jesse, Madilyn Kapchinske, Layla Lucas, Alexa Marion, Kyle Miller, Lucas Miller, Alexa Oliver, Emma Parks, Isabel Pistorius, Paul Ralston, Karolyn Spain, Sara Street, Anna Ward, Ella Woolington 10<sup>th</sup> Grade- Hayden Bergschneider, Jacob Clapp, Landon Francisco, Emma Pistorius, Maggie Pritts, Tara Reynolds, Connor Ryan, Liberty Scales, Gwen Scott

11<sup>th</sup> Grade- Carlie Delbridge, Katelyn Martin, Avril Morrell, Zoe Pramuk, Emily Renfro, Lola Shearer Davidson

12<sup>th</sup> Grade- Carli Bonn, Caleb Eickhoff, Eloise Fitzpatrick, Emery Johnson, Alexi Jones, Delaney Jones, Keagan Kantor, Kayden Mashburn, Rily Olinger, Cole Rappe, Mackenzie Reed, Madison Sapp, Isabelle Schelling, Elizabeth Snow, Maria Steiling

#### Administrator Reports:

The District Spelling Bee will be held on January 28 at the middle school. The top four spellers from MES and MMS will advance to the County Bee on February 15.

21 students from the middle school had art accepted in the Young Artists Showcase exhibit at the Anne Lloyd Gallery in Decatur. Congratulation to Alissa Weybright who received "Best of Show" for her piece.

Congratulations to Madison Sapp who was selected to participate in the All State Band at the Illinois Music Educator's Convention.

Andrew Ewing from UpChurch Group was present to answer questions from the Board in regards to the revised Ag Facility plan. With the cost of building materials still inflated, the bidding process will be postponed until late Spring.

Mr. Pygott touched on the current COVID protocol in place for students vs. the Test to Stay proposed by IDPH and operated by SHIELD, which yields concerns. It was the consensus of the Board to continue procedures currently in use.

It was noted that the Resolution to transfer money from the Ed fund to Transportation Fund will take place at the February meeting so that public notice can be issued.

On a motion by Member Kraft, seconded by Member Morey, the consent agenda was approved which consists of December 20, 2021 minutes, December financial reports and January disbursements as follow:

Education \$99,978.45 Building \$32,438.87

Transport \$9,695.40 Life Safety \$360.00

TOTAL \$142,472.72 (does not include payroll)

Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

The budget analysis was then presented.

The second reading of Board Policy Updates was presented. Mr. Pygott highlighted revisions to said policies. There was also a first reading of one policy that was inadvertently missed with the first readings last month. On a motion by Member Morey, seconded by Member Gorden, the Board adopted the Board Policy updates with the recommended revisions. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Member Morey, seconded by Member Kraft, motion to adjourn to executive session at 7:36 p.m. for the purpose of discussing matters pertaining to the employment, appointment, or dismissal of specific employees or officers, purchase or sale of property, pending legal matters, student discipline and negotiations. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

The Board returned to open session at 8:20 p.m. on a motion by Member Gorden, seconded by Member Morey. Motion carried with 5 ayes.

On a motion by Member Morey, seconded by Member Kraft, the Board approved Kayla Parker as bus driver. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Tricia Campbell was approved as HS girls track coach for 21-22 on a motion by Member Morey, seconded by Member Gorden. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Member Kraft, seconded by Member Morey, motioned to approve Yvonne Corrington and Katie Easley as district cooks. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Robert Carlson was approved as district custodian on a motion by Member Gorden, seconded by Member Morey. Motion carried on a roll call vote 5-0.

Sadie Scott was approved as volunteer middle scho Member Gorden, seconded by Member Kraft. Mot	•
Member Gorden, seconded by Member Kraft, motioned to adjourn the meeting at 8:23 p.m. Motion carried with 5 ayes. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be February 22, 2022, 6:30 p.m.	
Monte Hogan Board President	Rebecca Kraft Board Secretary