STEWARTSVILLE C-2 SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD MINUTES January 20, 2022 @ 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: President Monica Walker Directors: Jeromie Allen, Victor Orta, Tara Adkins, Bobbie Jo DeShon, James Fowler, Rachelle Motsinger (showed up at 6:10pm) Superintendent: Michael Stephenson Principal: Chantelle Schwope Board Secretary: Tobi McManus Guest: DeKalb County Sheriff's Office SRO Supervisor Wayne Morris

President Monica Walker called the Board Meeting to order at 6:07 pm with a quorum established.

Director Jeromie Allen made the motion to approve the agenda. Seconded by Director James Fowler. Motion carried 6-0.

Director Tara Adkins made the motion to approve the consent agenda (approval of the minutes & authorization of the payment of bills {Director Adkins}) Seconded by Director Jeromie Allen. Motion carried 6-0.

Old Business:

Director Jeromie Allen made the motion to approve the 2022-2023 school calendar as presented in the board packet. Seconded by Director Tara Adkins. Motion carried 6-0.

Director Tara Adkins made the motion to approve steps and a \$700 increase to the base for certified staff and a 3.134% raise for non-certified staff (Option 3 of the proposed salary scenarios presented to the board)for the 2022-2023 school year. Custodial staff will receive a \$1.00/hr raise to keep on track to meet the state minimum wage requirement. Seconded by Director James Fowler. Motion carried 7-0.

Director Jeromie Allen made the motion to approve Option 3 of the Paraprofessional/Custodial Salary Schedules as presented in the board packet. The schedules are newly created and reflect the salary increases for the 2022-2023 school year as voted on in the previous vote. These schedules will provide a consistent way of determining a starting wage for a new employee in the district. Seconded by Director Victor Orta. Motion carried 7-0.

New Business:

Director Victor Orta made the motion to approve Michelle Jacobs as a 1:1 student aide for the remainder of the 2021-2022 school year. Seconded by Director Jeromie Allen. Motion carried 5-0-2.

Director Tara Adkins made the motion to add Kelsey Roe, Hannah Perks, and Sarabeth Michael to the 2021-2022 substitute teacher list. Seconded by Director Bobbie Jo DeShon. Motion carried 7-0.

Director Victor Orta made the motion to add Emily Jacobs to the 2021-2022 substitute teacher list. Seconded by Director Jeromie Allen. Motion carried 5-0-2.

DeKalb County SRO Supervisor Wayne Morris shared information with the Board regarding building security. He gave a brief presentation on the School Guard Program and answered questions the Board had after viewing a video.

Director James Fowler made the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:45pm. Seconded by Director Jeromie Allen

Roll Call In: Monica Walker-yes Jeromie Allen-yes James Fowler-yes Rachelle Motsinger-yes Bobbie Jo DeShon-yes Victor Orta-yes Tara Adkins-yes

As provided under Missouri Revised Statute:

RSMO 610.021 (3)(13)—For the purpose of hiring, firing, disciplining or promoting particular employees by the district when personal information about the employee is discussed or recorded.

Director James Fowler made the motion to exit Executive Session. Seconded by Director Jeromie Allen.

Roll Call Out: Monica Walker-yes

Jeromie Allen-yes James Fowler-yes Rachelle Motsinger-yes Bobbie Jo DeShon-yes Victor Orta-yes Tara Adkins-yes

President Monica Walker adjourned the meeting at 8:22 pm.

Submitted by:

President, Board of Education

Member, Board of Education

Minutes recorded and typed by Board Secretary Tobi McManus. Executive Session minutes recorded by Rachelle Motsinger. Typed by Tobi McManus.