

Board of Education Meeting Minutes

[Tuesday, December 7, 2021 6:00p.m.]

In Attendance: Tina Ward, Lindsey Gustafson, Shelby Thomas, Stephen Delaney, Heather

Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait **Absent:** Eli Keller

Call to Order

Shelby Thomas

Mr. Thomas called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

Roll Call

Stephen Delaney

Pledge of Allegiance

Board Reorganization

Vote to approve nomination of Lindsey Gustafson as School Board President

- -Motion by Stephen Delaney
- -Seconded by Heather Smith

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Motion Passed

Vote to approve nomination of Shelby Thomas as School Board Vice President

- -Motion by Heather Smith
- -Seconded by Stephen Delaney

In Favor

Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

Tina Ward

Vote to approve nomination of Stephen Delaney as School Board Secretary

-Motion by Heather Smith

-Seconded by Dr. Laurel Tait

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Motion Passed

Vote to approve nomination of Tina Ward as School Disbursement Officer

-Motion by Shelby Thomas

-Seconded by Heather Smith

In Favor

Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

Tina Ward

Motion Passed

The Board voted in favor of School Board members Lindsey Gustafson as the representative for the State Legislature and Stephen Delaney as the representative for the District Facilities Committee.

Public Comments

Caroline Putnam, a junior at Maumelle High School, spoke to the Board in support of reinstating half-day Wednesdays for students. Miss. Putnam stated that teachers no longer have office or time to fill the gaps in learning. She also stated that half-day Wednesdays were beneficial for the schools to receive a deep cleaning due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Miss Putman added that she developed a petition in support of this initiative and has 1600 signatures to date. She closed by stating that she was open to discuss ideas.

Approval of Last Meeting's Minutes

Vote to approve minutes from meeting on November 9, 2021 Special Meeting

- -Motion by Stephen Delaney
- -Seconded by Shelby Thomas

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Vote to approve minutes from meeting on November 9, 2021 Regular Meeting

-Motion by Stephen Delaney

-Seconded by Heather Smith

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Motion Passed

Certified P.P.C. Presentation

There was no Certified PPC Presentation.

Classified P.P.C. Presentation

There was no Classified PPC Presentation.

Reports

Updated COVID-19 Protocols

Dr. Janice Warren presented updates to the current COVID-19 protocols.

2021-2022 Annual Report to the Public

Dr. Yolaundra Williams presented the Annual Report to the Public.

Board Member Recognition

Jessica Duff presented past Board members, Brian Maune, Alicia Gillen and Dr. Linda Remele with plaques in recognition of their service to the District.

Financial Updates

Ms. Rowlett

Construction Updates

Mr. Johnson

Action Items - Old Business

2021-2022 Student/Parent Handbook Amendment - Dr. Janice Warren and Brady Bratcher Vote to approve amendments to the 2021-2022 Student/Parent Handbook

-Motion by Tina Ward

-Seconded by Shelby Thomas

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith,

Opposed

Dr. Laurel Tait

Motion Passed

Action Items - New Business

Board Policy 6.2 Relations with School Support Organizations and Board Policy 7.21P1 Facilities Planning were tabled to the next regularly scheduled board meeting in January 2022.

ECF: Cradlepoints - Scott Young

Vote to approve ECF: Cradlepoints purchase and reimbursement

-Motion by Shelby Thomas

-Seconded by Dr. Laurel Tait

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Motion Passed

Computer Replacements - Scott Young

Vote to approve computer replacements in the front offices of each District school

-Motion by Tina Ward

-Seconded by Shelby Thomas

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

School Bus Purchases - Charles Blake Vote to approve purchase of School Buses

-Motion by Tina Ward

-Seconded by Shelby Thomas

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Motion Passed

Comments from the Board

There were no comments from the Board

Superintendent's Comments

Dr. McNulty thanked the Board and the audience for a democratic and civil process during the special board meeting. He also thanked Miss Putnam for those 1600 signatures gathered on her petition for half-day Wednesdays and stated the District is in contact with the State to get further clarification on the new legislature concerning half-days, while also addressing concerns of elementary school families with no childcare on half-days. Dr. McNulty shared that he and Dr. Smith had begun dialogue with some community partners to help eliminate those concerns. He added that a calendar would be presented, it may not be perfect however it will be presented. Dr. McNulty also shared that the District would be selling their bonds on Thursday at 10am and that interest rates were low and that Stephens, Inc. is expecting a really good outcome. He closed by expressing his inspiration in District educators, support staff, building leadership and that it is an honor to work with such great people and that he allows people to shine with autonomy and collaboration. Dr. McNulty wished everyone a great holiday season.

Consent Agenda

Vote to approve Consent Agenda

-Motion by Tina Ward

-Seconded by Dr. Laurel Tait

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)

Adjournment

Vote to adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

- -Motion by Shelby Thomas
- -Seconded by Tina Ward

In Favor

Tina Ward, Stephen Delaney, Shelby Thomas, Lindsey Gustafson, Heather Smith, Dr. Laurel Tait

Opposed

(None)