A Meeting of the Board of the O.U.R. Education Service Cooperative MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING

No.	Kind of Meeting	Meeting Place	O'Clock A.M or P.M.	<u>Mo. Day Year</u>
	Regular	OUR Co-op	10:00 A.M.	November 19, 2021

Board Members Present: Sarah Alexander, Owen Powell, Vanessa Thomas Jones, Bryan Pruitt, Dr. Matt Summers, Dr. Stewart Pratt, Dr. Candra Brasel, Tami Richey, Alan Yarbrough, Dr. Ryan Huff, Jeff Lewis, Dr. Kyle Mallett, and Wes Henderson.

Board Members Absent: Anthony Dowdy, Brenda Napier, and Kelvin Hudson

Co-op Staff Present: Jeff Cantrell, Kim Fowler, Monica Springfield and Nathan Cline **Guests Present:** Dr. Ivy Pfeffer and David Branscum with DESE, Dr. Rick Massengale with North Arkansas

College and Laura Hobbs, School Nurse at Yellville-Summit School District.

BOARD MEETING:

The meeting was called to order at 10:04 a.m. by President, Vanessa Thomas Jones.

CONSENT AGENDA: Items presented under the Consent Agenda were the October 15, 2021 Regular Board Meeting Minutes and the October 2021 Financial Reports. At 10:05, Dr. Ryan Huff made a motion to approve the items on the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Dr. Stewart Pratt and the vote to approve was unanimous.

OLD BUSINESS None

NEW BUSINESS

A. Arkansas School Recognition Program

Mr. Cantrell recognized schools from the O.U.R. Education Co-op districts that were listed as Arkansas Department of Education DESE Rewards Recognition School or were recognized by the Office of Education Policy based on student performance and growth on the Spring 2021 Summative Assessments.

B. New OUR Co-op Website

Mr. Cantrell and Nathan Cline, OUR Co-op Technology Coordinator, shared the new co-op website.

C. Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Deputy Commissioner with DESE

Dr. Pfeffer provided updates related to various projects and on-going work at DESE. Topics included High Quality Instructional Materials and the Arkansas Initiative for Instructional Materials, Curriculum and Material Policy, the Arkansas Teacher Residency Model, etc.

D. Dr. Rick Massengale, President of North Arkansas College

Dr. Massengale shared updates from the work at North Arkansas College.

E. Thesis Survey on Nurses/Student Absenteeism

Laura Hobbs, School Nurse at Yellville-Summit School District, shared information related to a survey she will be sharing with superintendents as a part of her Nursing Graduate Program.

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 12:12 p.m. Respectfully submitted by Kim Fowler.