## **Stanley County**



## **School Board Meeting**

October 17, 2006

The Stanley County School District, #57-1, Board of Education met in special session October 17, 2006, 7 P.M. in the lunchroom of the Elementary Building with Sonny Harrowa, Darby Nutter, Mork Norman, Bridget Miller and John Duffy present. Others in attendance were Superintendent Brad Caldwell and Business Manager Kevin Merscheim. Visitors included Harrold Superintendent Ward Thelen, Harrold Business Manager Marlene Marso and interested school staff, parents and residents of both the Stanley County and Harrold School Districts.

President Sonny Harrowa called the meeting to order at 7 P.M.

President Sonny Harrowa led the pledge of allegiance.

Norman moved, seconded by Miller, to adopt the agenda. All voted aye.

President Sonny Harrowa declared the Board in recess at 7:05 P.M. for the purpose of conducting a public hearing on the proposed consolidation of the Stanley County School District and the Harrold School District effective July 1, 2007.

President Sonny Harrowa presented the rules and procedures of the public hearing.

Business Manager Kevin Merscheim reported the financial status of the Stanley County School District and the financial advantages of the consolidation with the Harrold School District. Stanley County Superintendent Brad Caldwell and Harrold Superintendent Ward Thelen answered questions from the public in attendance about the proposed consolidation. Questions involved enrollment, financial information, the structure of the new school board and staffing of the new consolidated school district as proposed.

President Sonny Harrowa declared the Board back in session at 7:55 P.M.

The Stanley County Board members discussed the advantages and disadvantages of the consolidation and a possible deferral of Board approval until further information is available.

Norman moved, seconded by Miller, to approve the consolidation plan as presented and to authorize the submission of the plan to the State of South Dakota for approval. Harrowa, Norman, Nutter and Miller voted aye. Duffy voted no.

Miller moved, seconded by Norman, to adjourn at 8:18 P.M. All voted aye.

Sonny Harrowa, President Kevin Merscheim, Business Manager