## **Stanley County**



## **School Board Meeting**

November 1, 2006

The Stanley County School District, #57-1, Board of Education met in special session November 1, 2006, 5:30 P.M., in the High School Library with Sonny Harrowa, Bridget Miller, Mork Norman, John Duffy and Darby Nutter present. Others in attendance were Superintendent Brad Caldwell, Business Manager Kevin Merscheim and Principal Brian Doherty. Visitors were Craig Rutschke, Tony Mangan and Harrold School Superintendent Ward Thelen.

President Sonny Harrowa called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

President Sonny Harrowa led the pledge of allegiance.

Miller moved, seconded by Norman, to adopt the agenda as published. All voted aye.

Superintendent Brad Caldwell reported the SCH Consolidated School District Plan was submitted to the State of South Dakota for approval. The plan was rejected and would require a change to section number nine which details the size of the board and the stipulation of two members being from the Harrold School District. The proposed change would reduce the size of the consolidated board to five members and any registered voter running for the Board of the new consolidated district would be elected at large. The Board discussed setting a date for another public hearing on the consolidation before the election in December.

Miller moved, seconded by Norman, to approve the proposed change in the consolidation plan to require a five-member board and to elect members of that board on an at large basis from the new consolidated school district. Miller, Norman, Nutter and Harrowa voted aye. Duffy voted no.

Superintendent Brad Caldwell presented a copy of a letter from Mayor Sam Tidball of the City of Fort Pierre to the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks for the improvement of the land adjacent to the Parkview Building.

Miller moved, seconded by Norman, to adjourn at 5:50 P.M. All voted aye.

Sonny Harrowa, President Kevin Merscheim, Business Manager