Page 1

MAY 3, 2023	Ι	A Special meeting of the Board of Education of the Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 was held in the Henry-Senachwine High School Media Center, 1023 College Ave., Henry, Illinois on Wednesday, May 3, 2023 at 7:03 p.m
PRESENT	II	There were present in person: Lori DeWeerth, James Downey, Angela Earles, Jeremy Kiesewetter, Melissa Thompson and Randy Witko, comprising a quorum of the Board.
ABSENT		There were absent: Mary Jo Klein
APPROVE AGENDA	III	Motion by Jeremy Kiesewetter, seconded by Melissa Thompson, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 approve the agenda with an <b>addition or deletion or correction</b> of the following items:
		None
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.
RECOGNITION OF GUESTS	IV	Recognition of Visitors and/or Special Communications
		4.01 Public Participation – None
CERTIFY SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION RESULTS	V	Motion by James Downey, seconded by Lori DeWeerth, the following list of candidates each received the number of votes ascribed to the candidate for the office of Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 (4 year term):
		Inclusive across 3 counties: Marshall, Putnam & Bureau Four Year Term
		Lori DeWeerth 208
		James Downey 235
		Melissa Thompson 199
		That the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 certifies and proclaims that as a result of the April 4, 2023 election the following candidates were elected to the Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 School Board for a term of four years: Lori DeWeerth, James Downey, and Melissa Thompson.
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.
APPOINT PRESIDENT PRO-TEM	VI	Motion by Jeremy Kiesewetter, seconded by James Downey, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 appoint Dr. Michael Miller as President Pro-tem.
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.
APPOINT SECRETARY PRO-TEM	VII	Motion by Melissa Thompson, seconded by James Downey, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 appoint Angie Earles as Secretary Pro-tem.
THE TENT		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.

Page 2

ADJOURN SINE DIE	VIII	Motion by James Downey, seconded by Lori DeWeerth, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 adjourn Sine Die its meeting at 7:09 p.m
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.
MAY 3, 2023	I	A Reorganizational meeting of the Board of Education of the Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 was held in the Henry-Senachwine High School Media Center, 1023 College Ave., Henry, Illinois on Wednesday, May 3, 2023 at 7:10 p.m
PRESENT	II	There were present in person: Lori DeWeerth, James Downey, Angela Earles, Jeremy Keisewetter, Melissa Thompson and Randy Witko, comprising a quorum of the Board.
ABSENT		There were absent: Mary Jo Klein
APPROVE AGENDA	III	Motion by Jeremy Kiesewetter, seconded by James Downey, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 approve the agenda with an <b>addition or deletion or correction</b> of the following items:
		12.02 – Asbestos project update
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.
RECOGNITION OF GUESTS CORRESPONDENCE	IV	Special Report/Recognition of Guests
		4.01 Public Participation – None
OATH OF OFFICE	V	Superintendent Dr. Michael Miller administered the Oath of Office for the Board of Education of CUSD 5 Board Members.
NOMINATE BOARD PRESIDENT	VI	Nominations for the position of School Board President were as follows:
		1) Randy Witko
		Motion by Jeremy Kiesewetter, seconded by Angie Earles, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 vote to elect Randy Witko to serve as School Board President for a two-year term.
		Roll Call: Yea; DeWeerth, Yea; Downey, Yea; Earles, Yea; Kiesewetter, Yea; Thompson, Yea; Witko.
		Yea 6, Nay 0, Absent, 1.
		Randy Witko was elected with 6 votes to service as School Board President for a two-year term.
NOMINATE BOARD VICE PRESIDENT	VII	Nominations for the position of School Board Vice President were as follows:
		1) Angie Earles

MAY 3, 2023 SPECIAL & REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Page 3

Motion by James Downey, seconded by Randy Witko, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 vote to elect Angie Earles to serve as School Board Vice President for a two-year term.

Roll Call: Yea; Downey, Yea; Earles, Yea; Kiesewetter, Yea; Thompson, Yea; Witko, Yea; DeWeerth.

Yea 6, Nay 0, Absent, 1.

Angie Earles was elected with 6 votes to service as School Board Vice President for a two-year term.

#### NOMINATE BOARD SECRETARY

VIII Nominations for the position of School Board Secretary were as follows:

#### 1) Mary Jo Klein

Motion by Melissa Thompson, seconded by Jeremy Kiesewetter, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 vote to elect Mary Jo Klein to serve as School Board Secretary for a two-year term.

Roll Call: Yea; Earles, Yea; Kiesewetter, Yea; Thompson, Yea; Witko, Yea; DeWeerth, Yea; Downey.

Yea 6, Nay 0, Absent, 1.

Mary Jo Klein was elected with 6 votes to service as School Board Secretary for a two-year term.

#### NOMINATE BOARD TREASURER

IX Nominations for the position of School Board Treasurer were as follows:

### 1) Jeremy Kiesewetter

Motion by James Downey, seconded by Melissa Thompson, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 vote to elect Jeremy Kiesewetter to serve as School Board Treasurer for a two-year term.

Roll Call: Yea; Kiesewetter, Yea; Thompson, Yea; Witko, Yea; DeWeerth, Yea; Downey, Yea; Earles.

Yea 6, Nay 0, Absent, 1.

Jeremy Kiesewetter was elected with 6 votes to service as School Board Treasurer for a two-year term

#### SET BOARD SECRETARY'S SALARY

X No motion -Elected School Board Secretary, Mary Jo Klein, declined payment as the School Board Secretary.

Page 4

AUTHORIZE TREASURER'S SIGNATURE	XI	No Motion – No change of School Board Treasurer.
ESTABLISH DATE AND TIME OF BOARD MEETINGS	XII	12.01 Motion by Jeremy Kiesewetter, seconded by Lori DeWeerth, that the Board of Education of CUSD 5 establish the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. as the date and time for the regular board meetings. Location of the regular meetings will be held in the high school media center.
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried
ASBESTOS PROJECT UPDATE		12.02 – Update on asbestos abatement
ADJOURN MEETING	XIII	Motion by James Downey, seconded by Melissa Thompson, that the Board of Education of Henry-Senachwine CUSD 5 adjourn its meeting at 7:33 p.m
		Roll Call: Voice Vote. Motion carried.

**Board President** 

**Board Secretary**