SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES WATERTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 14-4 CODINGTON COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA (Pending School Board Approval)

The School Board of the Watertown School District No. 14-4 of Codington County, South Dakota convened pursuant to due notice at 12:00 p.m., Thursday, October 21, 2021 in special session. The following members were in attendance: Chairman Tammy Rieber, Stuart Stein, Jean Moulton, Jon Iverson and Kari Lohr. Also in attendance were LATC directors, administration and members of the LATC Strategic Advisory Council.

Chairman Tammy Rieber convened the Board for its special session by leading the Pledge to the Flag.

CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Chairman Rieber asked if any School Board member or administrator needed to disclose a conflict of interest on any agenda or non-agenda items. There were no conflicts disclosed.

AGENDA REVIEW/APPROVAL

Jean Moulton moved that the agenda be approved as presented. Kari Lohr seconded. Five votes yes. Motion carried.

LATC DISCUSSION ITEMS

Strategic Advisory Council – It was noted that the LATC Strategic Advisory Council is made up of the following members: Chairman Joy Nelson, Michael Bockorny (V), Brad Schmidt, Joel Wiering, Nate Lake (V), Don Roby, Adam Koplin, Troy Zebroski, Julie Hibbert and School Board Member Tammy Rieber. Karna Pfeffer was not in attendance.

Critical Performance Indicators – Mike Cartney, LATC President; Diane Stiles, LATC Vice President; Terri Cordrey, Assistant Dean of Academics; and Tracy Hlavecek, Foundation Executive Director, presented, reviewed, and led discussion on the following areas noted on the LATC quarterly dashboard: Enrollment, Fiscal Health, Plant Capacity and Condition, Human Resources, Industry – Regional Relationships and Assessment.

President's Report – Mike Cartney, LATC President, provided an update that included information on new programs and the next phase of "I'm IN Capital Campaign" for upcoming building projects.

Trends in Business and Industry – Individual Strategic Advisory Council members shared what is happening in the trends of their specific industry. General discussion was held in relation to the comments provided.

Chairman Tammy Rieber thanked the LATC Strategic Advisory Council members and the LATC Administrators for their participation in the special meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Jon Iverson moved that the Watertown School Board adjourn its special meeting at 1:40 p.m. Stuart Stein seconded. Five votes yes. Motion carried.

By: Emily Sovell, Assistant Business Manager