## BLEVINS SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MAY 10, 2021 CAFETERIA

The regular board meeting was held May 10, 2021 in the school cafeteria. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by President Laura Clark. Board members present: Laura Clark, Janet Banister, Cindy Parks, Steve Dunham, and Dave Phillips.

Prayer was led by Laura Clark, and the Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.

Janet Banister made a motion to approve the minutes for the April 12, 2021 monthly board meeting. Dave Phillips seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5-0 vote.

Cindy Parks made a motion to approve the April 30, 2021 financial report. Dave Phillips seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5-0 vote.

Janet Banister made a motion to accept/renew the \$5,720.00 contract with Apex Learning Credit Recovery Program. Steve Dunham seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5-0 vote.

Dave Phillips made a motion to amend the prior bid for the purchase of a 2022 Blue Bird Vision Conventional 77 Passenger School Bus for \$89,845.00 from Central States Bus Sales, Inc. Steve Dunham seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5-0 vote.

Superintendent Stephanie Dixon advised the board of a donation/gift from the Reece Family Revocable Trust. The Blevins High School Scholarship Fund was given \$50,000.00 to be used for one annual scholarship for a Blevins High School graduate that planned to pursue a degree/major in Elementary Education.

Superintendent Stephanie Dixon advised the board that we are awaiting a response from the Arkansas Department of Education regarding the renaming of the Blevins Elementary.

Steve Dunham made a motion to approve the purchase agreement with Solutions Tree, Inc for onsite professional development for grades K-12 in the amount of \$6,500.00 effective August 10, 2021, Dave Phillips seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5-0 vote.

The board went into executive session at 6:55 p.m. to discuss personnel issues. The board came out of executive session at 7:13 p.m. **NOTE: Carl McGill joined the board in executive session at 6:56 p.m.** 

Superintendent Stephanie Dixon advised the board that Candace Richburg will be moving from special education to elementary teacher for the 2021-2022 school year.

Laura Clark made a motion to approve the stipend changes for the following personnel for the 2021-2022 school year: Ashley Basham (one-half day for two weeks to help with summer school in the Blevins High School)I Spencer Kizer (one-half time athletic director); Brittney Martin (FBLA, CTE Coordinator); Shana Campbell (Beta Club); and Justin Mishler (Student Council). Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to hire the following personnel for the 2021-2022 school year: Brittany Hubbard (elementary teacher); Jordan Tribble (K-12 art teacher); Andrea Woodruff (high school teacher); Jeremy Adams (high school teacher); and Tenna Elmore (custodian with 180-day contract). Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to hire the following personnel for summer help for the period June 1 through July 30, 2021: Jalyn Pinson (4 days per week -- full-time); Madison Dixon (3 days per week); and Ethan Dixon (3 days per week). The motion also authorized the additional option for Superintendent Stephanie Dixon to hire up to two more people for summer help. Janet Banister seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Laura Clark made a motion to hire Charles Steelman as custodian for the 2021-2022 school year (240 -day contract) once his paperwork has been cleared. Carl McGill seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote

Laura Clark made a motion the accept the resignations of the following personnel: Carmine Douglas (4th grade literacy); Trish Steed (high school literacy); Keturah Artis (5th grade literacy); and Laken Scott (3rd grade literacy). Dave Phillips seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

Dave Phillips made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:18 p.m. Laura Clark seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 6-0 vote.

BOARD PRESIDENT:	
EX-OFFICIO FINANCIAL OFFICER:	

MINUTES: