SPECIAL MEETING #26

The Mineral County Board of Education met in special session at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, April 27, 2021, at New Creek Primary School, 85 New Creek School Road, New Creek, WV, with the following in attendance:

Board Members: Lara L. Courrier, President (06-30-2022)

Mary J. Baniak, Vice-President (attended remotely) (06-30-2022) Donald C. Ashby, Jr. (06-30-2024) Thomas C. Denne (06-30-2024)

Absent: Terry G. Puffinburger (06-30-2022)

Administration: Troy L. Ravenscroft, Superintendent

Rhonda Martin, CSBO/Treasurer

Scott Staley, Director of Administrative Services

Denise Bruno, Executive Secretary

Other: Joyce Malcolm, Donna Canan, Kathy Johnson, Patti Twigg, Amanda Harvey, Kelly Mauzy,

Tammy Ashby, Michael Saturday, Janey Moore, Kara Lyons, Ashley Shreve, Tanya Clark, Lisa

Goldstom, Juli Ravenscroft, Hayden Glass, Addisyn Rawlings, Elijah Strother

Pledge of Allegiance – led by Patti Twigg

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

The motion of Mr. Denne and second of Mr. Ashby passed unanimously 4-0 to approve the agenda as presented.

SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT COUNCIL PRESENTATIONS:

The Mineral County Board of Education met with the following School Improvement Councils, as required by WV Code §18-5-14.

1. Burlington Primary School

Mrs. Malcolm, Principal, introduced members of the council who were present. She gave a multi-media presentation to the Board from Burlington Primary School Improvement Council. Kathy Johnson, the community appointee, also spoke to the Board.

2. Fountain Primary School

Mrs. Twigg, Principal, gave a multi-media presentation to the Board from the Fountain Primary School Improvement Council.

3. Elk Garden Primary School

Tammy Ashby, Kara Lyons and Janey Moore, teachers, gave a multi-media presentation to the Board from Elk Garden Primary School Improvement Council.

4. New Creek Primary School

Ms. Clark, Principal, gave a multi-media presentation to the Board from the New Creek Primary School Improvement Council.

5. Keyser Primary School

Ms. Goldstrom, Principal, and Ms. Ravenscroft, along with students: Hayden Glass, Addisyn Rawlings, and Elijah Strother gave a presentation to the Board on behalf of the Keyser Primary School Local School Improvement Council.

ACTION AGENDA

OTHER ACTION

1. **PERSONNEL**:

A. Approval of Summer School Positions

With the recommendation of the Superintendent, the motion of Mr. Ashby and second of Mr. Denne passed 3-0

to approve summer school positions, as presented. (See attached.)

B. Adjust the Professional and Service Supplemental Salary Scale, Effective with the End of the 2021 200-Day Contract

With the recommendation of the Superintendent, the motion of Mr. Denne and second of Mr. Ashby passed 4-0

to approve the following adjustments to the supplemental salary scale for professional and service personnel, effective with the end of the 2021 200-day contract, as presented:

- Professional Personnel from \$20/hour to \$30/hour
- Service Personnel from \$15/hour to \$18.50/hour

|--|

ADJOURNMENT.

The President adjourned the meeting at p.m.

05-04-2021 DATE APPROVED PRESIDENT

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY