## BURTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS BUDGET AND PROPOSED TAX RATE AUGUST 29, 2016

The Board of Trustees of Burton Independent School District held a public meeting to discuss the budget and proposed tax rate and then vote to adopt the budget and tax rate on Monday, August 29, 2016 at 6:30 p.m. in the Burton Independent School District Administration Office.

## Board Members present:

Demetrius Colvin, Sr., Misty Lucherk, Ronnie Hohlt, Felton Cox, Jeff Harmel, Ande Bostain, Brian Jaeger

## Administrators present:

Superintendent Edna Kennedy and Sheila Ripple, Business Clerk

## Administrators absent:

Principals Karen Steenken and Melinda Fuchs

<u>Visitors</u>: Willy Dilworth, Washington County Chief Appraiser

Alan Younts - Auditor Mark Whitehead – KWHI

Linda Hasten Tim Hasten

The following business was transacted:

- 1. The meeting was called to order by President Demetrius Colvin, Sr.
- 2. The 2016-2017 budget and proposed tax rate were discussed.
- 3. A motion was made by Mrs. Lucherk and seconded by Mr. Harmel to adopt the 2016-2017 budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously. The adopted budget is \$5,094,771.01.
- 4. A motion was made by Mr. Jaeger and seconded by Mr. Bostain to adopt an ordinance setting the tax rate at \$1.1700 per \$100.00 valuation. The ad valorem tax rate will be distributed as follows: \$1.0400 for maintenance and operation and \$.1300 for interest and sinking. Motion passed unanimously.
- 5. A motion was made by Mr. Harmel and seconded by Mr. Jaeger to approve budget amendments for 2015-2016 as presented. Motion passed unanimously. (Copy attached.)
- 6. A motion was made by Mr. Hohlt and seconded by Mr. Bostain to approve changes to Board Policy CQ(LOCAL) Acceptable Use Policy as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

- 7. A motion was made by Mrs. Lucherk and seconded by Mr. Jaeger to approve changes to the supplemental salary schedule as presented. Motion passed unanimously.
- 8. A motion was made by Mr. Hohlt and seconded by Mr. Bostain to adjourn at 7:06 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,
Secretary
President