PENDING BOARD APPROVAL

BOARD OF EDUCATION OWEN D. YOUNG CENTRAL SCHOOL Tuesday, May 7, 2013 Special Board of Education Meeting

The mission of the Owen D. Young Central School is to provide an excellent educational environment in which all students can achieve success and become contributing citizens.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Cathy Mayton-Collins, George Mower, Natalia Rogers, Lawrence Snyder and Linda Tharp.

ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT: James Picolla, Superintendent; Brennan Fahey, Building Principal; Jodie Rodriquez, Business Administrator; Marilyn Kennerknecht, District Clerk and 16 guests.

President Mayton-Collins called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. followed by the Pledge to the Flag.

In a motion by Vice President Mower, seconded by Trustee Tharp, the meeting agenda was approved. MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

DISTRICT PRESENTATION

Superintendent James Picolla and Business Administrator Jodie Rodriquez presented the Owen D. Young Central School budget and information for the 2013-2014 school year. The proposed budget is \$5,517,271. The budget to budget increase is 1.13% and a tax levy increase of 2.56%. There are three propositions on the ballot: the budget, school bus/van purchase and a capital reserve fund.

MEET THE CANDIDATES

The three candidates running for two open Board seats are Jordan Clements, Quendryth Marshall and Lawrence Snyder. Each candidate spoke briefly outlining their ideas and what attributes they would bring to the Board.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Mrs. Jane Klump inquired as to how many special education students there are in K-12. She also said she is pleased to see younger people taking an interest in running for the Board and feels that all three candidates want what is best for the students. Mrs. Jackie Snyder and Mrs. Klump both said they are pleased to have three candidates running.

BOARD COMMENTS

President Mayton-Collins is excited for all the candidates and pleased that we have people willing to continue the work of the Board. She also announced that the budget process was seamless and thanked current Board members, Mrs. Rodriquez, James Picolla and Brennan Fahey for their work on the budget process.

In a motion by Vice President Mower, seconded by Trustee Tharp, the meeting was adjourned at 7:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Marilyn Kennerknecht District Clerk